Publications
Feature: Make the Final Journey Peaceful
Palliative Care for Elderly Suffering from Terminal Illiness
back

“Can I not be admitted to the hospital?” asked Madam Tsang Yip-hung to the nurse. In her 80s, Madam Tsang went to the hospital every week to undergo intubation and treatment. With puncture marks all over her arms, she could but endure the pain by herself. As soon as she learnt about The Salvation Army Palliative Care in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly Project (or PC Project), she seemed to have found a chance to break this painful cycle, and decided to join the project right away.

Madam Tsang completed lower secondary school decades ago. In those days, she was regarded as an intellectual, modern and independent lady. When she has aged, she still knew her own mind and refused to live with her son and daughter-in-law. She did enjoy living alone and led a relaxing life, meeting friends for dramas or singing Cantonese opera during her leisure time.

Frequent Visits to the Hospital

However, not every day is a sunny day. Owing to high blood pressure and sugar level, Madam Tsang has suffered from strokes for four times. As a result, the left side of her body was paralysed. Subsequently, she was admitted to The Salvation Army Po Lam Residence for Senior Citizens for care. “Very often we received calls from the  Residence, sometimes in the middle of the night, telling us her blood sugar was off the chart and must be admitted to the hospital at once,” said her daughter-in-law. Intravenous therapy, blood drawing and drip are almost the must-dos for every admission. She was hospitalised for one week, discharged for two days, and then urgently rushed to the hospital again. Every time when her family was notified, they left behind all their work and hurried to the hospital. The same scenario repeated again and again, making the entire family physically and mentally exhausted.

In 2015, Madam Tsang and her family learnt that The Salvation Army’s PC Project could provide comprehensive palliative and hospice care. Together they listened to the detailed explanation by the social worker of the Residence and realised that elders with terminal illnesses may forgo futile treatment and opt for pain relief medication. They can receive spiritual and mental care, and pass away naturally with dignity in a familiar and comfortable setting. “Great! It’s good not to go to hospital again,” Madam Tsang said at once. After considering for a week, she decided to join the project and her family respected her choice.

Physical and Mental Care

From then on, the project physician has continued to monitor Madam Tsang’s physical condition and prescribe some medicine for her, whereas nurses regularly measured her blood sugar level. Staff of the residence closely attended to her and kept in close touch with her family. The Salvation Army social workers together with volunteers paid her regular visits and held gathering parties for the family to reminisce the good old days. Sometimes they would bring Madam Tsang out for a walk despite her mobility challenge.

Visiting the flower markets was the most anticipated annual activity for Madam Tsang. To help get her smiles back, the social worker and residence’s staff took her for a walk in a nearby flower market during the Chinese New Year in 2017. Despite being tired, she was so excited and kept asking to try various snacks. As she turned around, she could not get her eyes off the blossoming orchids and said, “Let’s buy this one!” Holding the little pot of orchids and a few bright red couplets in her hands, Madam Tsang returned to the residence beaming with smiles. She put the flowers at the bedside, reminding her of such a beautiful day.

Spiritual Comfort

Madam Tsang also kept thinking about Lieutenant Billy Lam, Corps Officer (Pastor) of Tseung Kwan O Corps (Church) of The Salvation Army. Over the past two years, the continued visits and talks have built a strong relationship between Madam Tsang and Lieutenant Lam. When she was in pain, Lieutenant Lam would persuade her, “Try  praying. Jesus will help you.” Madam Tsang would calm down and find peace through prayers.

Life and death are not in our hands, but Madam Tsang wants to properly make her last plans: to complete the final journey of her life comfortably and naturally. Her family respects her wish and says, “Let’s meet again in heaven.” 


Hear the Elders Out

One of the reasons for Madam Chan Kit-bing, an elderly resident of The Salvation Army Po Lam Residence for Senior Citizens, to join The Salvation Army Palliative Care in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly Project is that “there’re more familiar faces here (in the residence). I don’t want to go to the hospital.” Many elders think the same and want to pass away peacefully in a familiar setting.

According to social worker Chan Ho-kong, the elderly are generally more open to discuss the issue of life and death; on the contrary the family would treat it as a taboo. The Salvation Army encourages family members to make end-of-life planning with the elders while they still have cognitive abilities, and respect the elders’ wishes.


The Salvation Army Palliative Care in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly Project

Since its implementation in 2010, the project sponsored by ”la Caixa” Foundation and The Bank of East Asia Charitable Foundation Limited has been providing professional palliative care and comprehensive mental, social and spiritual care for elderly patients with terminal illness. Some participating residences have set up special rooms where family members can stay with the elders throughout their final journey of life. The project provides counselling service for participants and their family, and offers training to medical and nursing professionals and residence staff. Through organising seminars and workshops, the project also promotes life and death education to the elderly, family and residence staff.

Palliative Care for Elderly...
During the Chinese New Year...
During the Chinese New Year...
Since Madam Tsang needs not...
The Salvation Army arranges...
Hear the Elders Out
Special room

出版刊物
專題:安然走過最後一程
讓末期病患長者接受紓緩護理
上一頁

「不入醫院行不行呀?」曾燁虹婆婆問護士。80多歲的曾婆婆每週進出醫院,重複接受各樣檢查和治療,看見花斑斑的手臂,有苦自己知。當她了解到救世軍「香港安老院舍完善人生關顧計劃」能提供紓緩護理後,她像找到脫離這痛苦循環的生機,就馬上決定參加這計劃。

中三畢業的曾婆婆,幾十年前屬有知識、時髦獨立的女性代表。年紀大了,她仍很有主見,不肯跟兒子和媳婦同住,倒享受獨居,閒時約好友看看戲、唱唱曲,優哉游哉。

頻繁進出醫院

但好景不常,血壓、血糖日漸高漲,曾婆婆先後四次中風,以致左半身無法動彈,隨後入住救世軍寶琳長者之家,接受照顧。「我們常收到院舍通知,有時半夜三更,說她血糖高到爆表了,要立即送入院。」媳婦說。插針抽血吊鹽水,幾乎是每次入院的指定動作。留院一周,出院兩天,又再緊急送院了。家人每接到通知,就必須拋下一切工作趕到醫院。周而復始,婆婆一家的身心都累極了。

2015 年,她與家人獲悉救世軍「香港安老院舍完善人生關顧計劃」能提供全面的紓緩護理和臨終照顧,於是一同在院舍聽社工的詳細講解,得知末期病患長者可選擇用藥減輕痛楚,不施行無效的搶救,而且能舒適而有尊嚴地在熟悉的環境中自然離世;並且能接受持續的心理和靈性關顧。婆婆即說:「好呀!不用入醫院就好了。」考慮一周,她堅決參加計劃,家人也尊重她的選擇。

身心照顧

自此,計劃醫生持續監測曾婆婆的身體狀況,並由護士定期量度血糖指數;院舍職員亦貼身照顧婆婆,與其家屬緊密聯繫。社工則定期安排義工探望她,並為她舉辦家庭聚會,回顧昔日的點滴;間中更會帶行動不便的她出戶外散心。

逛花市,曾經是婆婆一年一度最期盼的活動。為了令她重拾歡顏,社工和院舍員工在2017 年的農曆新年期間,特別帶她到附近的花市繞一圈。即使身軀多麼疲憊,她仍表現雀躍,嚷着要試各款小吃。一轉身,她的目光被盛放的蘭花吸引了,便說:「買這個回去吧!」抱着小巧的蘭花,掐着幾張大紅揮春,她笑咪咪地回到院舍,將鮮花放近牀頭,叫自己記住這天的美麗。

靈性慰藉

常記在心的,還有救世軍將軍澳部隊(教會)隊長林業鏗中尉(牧師)。兩年來持續的探訪和傾談,令曾婆婆與林中尉建立了深厚的關係。當她感到痛苦時,中尉勸說:「嘗試祈禱吧,耶穌會幫助你的。」她便藉着祈禱緩和了情緒,得着平安。

雖然生死不由人,但曾婆婆仍想妥善地作最後的決定:舒服、自然地走完人生路。家人亦尊重她的意願,說:「將來在天家相聚吧。」


聽聽「老友記」的心聲

救世軍寶琳長者之家的院友陳潔冰婆婆決定參加救世軍「香港安老院舍完善人生關顧計劃」的原因之一,是「這裏(院舍)多認識的人」,不想入醫院。她跟許多長者一樣,盼在熟悉的環境中安祥離開。

社工陳浩光表示一般長者較開放討論生死,反而家屬較忌諱。救世軍鼓勵家人在長者有認知能力時,一起為長者做生前死後的規劃,並尊重長者的意願。


救世軍「香港安老院舍完善人生關顧計劃」

計劃自2010 年起推行,得到”la Caixa” 基金会與東亞銀行慈善基金有限公司捐助,由專業人員為臨終長者提供紓緩護理,以及心理、社交和靈性上的全面照顧。部份參加的院舍設專用房間,讓院友在家人陪伴下走完人生旅程。計劃為參加者及其家人提供輔導,培訓醫護專業人士和院舍同工,並透過講座及工作坊向長者、家屬和院舍同工推廣生死教育。

讓末期病患長者接受紓緩護理
2017 農曆新年,社工帶婆婆逛...
2016 年新年,婆婆在院舍與家...
曾婆婆不用經常進醫院,媳婦...
救世軍為婆婆安排了家庭聚會...
聽聽「老友記」的心聲
專用房間