Publications
Feature: Easing Parents’ Worries
Care Support for Parents with Autistic Children
back
Most parents want to give their children the best of everything. When Yiu-kwong’s mother found out her son had autism and mild intellectual disability, she chose to tough it out and bear it without complaint. Decades have slipped away in a blink of an eye. Now this hoary-headed woman’s health is deteriorating, but she still has to provide personal care for her almost-40-year-old son. What about the future? She could not relax until she learnt about the care and support services provided by The Salvation Army.
 
Yiu-kwong’s mother, a tired-looking woman in her 70s, walked slowly with crutches and accompanied her son into The Salvation Army Lai King Home. Taking care of her autistic son all by herself, the single mother found the burden so heavy to be taken up alone, having no one to share with. She could not but suffer in silence.
 
Carrying It All Alone
 
When Yiu-kwong was in kindergarten, his mother already noticed something wrong: why did he only play by himself? She was aware of his condition and arranged for an assessment in a hospital, where he was diagnosed with autism and mild intellectual disability. In those days, the general public in Hong Kong did not have much understanding and awareness of autism, nor were there widespread support services. Yiu-kwong’s mother knew little about community support, so she could only carry it all alone.
 
Owing to physical and psychological changes during adolescence, Yiu-kwong’s mental health was greatly affected by insomnia and adolescent temper tantrums. His mother had no choice but to admit him to the hospital. She waited until her son finally came home, but a number of parenting challenges were waiting for her. With poor social skills, Yiu-kwong’s enthusiastic and proactive personality has scared off women. Lacking in analytical ability, he listened to the law-breakers who told him to keep buying illegal cigarettes which were laid all over his bed. He even imitated smoking. Also, he had little self-control over food. His mother prepared three light meals a day to help him stay healthy. This heavy burden made her suffer from depression. She had fainted and was rushed to the hospital more than once.
 
Stress Relief for Caregivers
 
In 2010, through a community support centre, Yiu-kwong’s mother was thrilled to learn about the residential respite service offered by The Salvation Army Lai King Home. She joined The Salvation Army Share-care - SHINE Project (Critical Moment Intervention for Autistic Persons and Their Families). “I can take a break and life’s not so hard when I don’t have to prepare all three meals every day,” she said smilingly. “Now I don’t worry about a thing.” The meals provided by the residence are so delicious and nutritious that even someone as finicky as Yiu-kwong has no complaints. He attends day care service three days per week and stays at home the rest of the week. When his mother falls ill and is hospitalised, Yiu-kwong will stay at the Army residence so that his mother can set her mind at rest.
 
The Army offers emotional counselling to Yiu-kwong, which has helped alleviate his obsessive-compulsive disorder symptom of hand-washing. Different interest activities are also arranged to help him identify his artistic talent. “I’m really good at pottery making. I made cups, tables…” Yiu-kwong turned his familiar furniture into lifelike miniatures that really impressed his mother. When being asked about household chores, Yiu-kwong stopped smiling and pouted, “I have to sweep the floor and change the bed sheets… it’s very tiring and makes me sweat.” His mother answered at once, “You must learn to do things you are able to do by yourself.” Now, Yiu-kwong lessens his mother’s burden by tidying up clothes and mending blankets at home.
 
“How I wish I knew the Army earlier,” said Yiu-kwong’s mother. While Yiu-kwong is queuing for a place in a residential home, he can stay in a familiar neighbourhood together with his mother during this transitional period, and receive appropriate assistance from the Army in times of need.
 

Reach out to “Hidden Families” around You

 
Ms Hung Nga-sin, a social worker of The Salvation Army, said that the stress of parents with autistic children mostly comes from the discrimination and disdain in society. That is why some needy families have become “hidden”. They do not want to be seen and even do not know where to look for community support services. In fact, they long for acceptance and tolerance from all of us. If you identify such families around you, begin by saying hello and get to know one another, then build up a trust relationship through simple greetings and caring actions, such as sharing food and helping with chores. When you notice their needs for community assistance, please contact The Salvation Army Share-care - SHINE Project.
 
Enquiry: 2744 1511
 

Share-care - SHINE Project

 
Starting from 2001, The Salvation Army has implemented support services catering to the needs of autism families. The Share-care - SHINE Project (Critical Moment Intervention for Autistic Persons and Their Families) provides services for autistic persons aged over 15 and their family members. The out-of-home services include short-term residential care and training that help autistic persons to reestablish daily routine, positive emotions, social communication, etc. On the other hand, the homebased services include on-site professional consultation and guidance, boosting the confidence of parents or caregivers so that they are able to take up the training and disciplining roles.
 
The project provides personal and family counselling services. Through themed workshops and parent-child groups, parents/caregivers will grasp the training skills as well as the knowledge of looking after autistic persons. Also, a mutual aid network among these families will be established.
 
Ever since Yiu-kwong (left)...
For many years, his mother ...
Yiu-kwong learns how to mak...
Music activities such as pi...
The Share-care - SHINE Proj...

出版刊物
專題:放不下大孩子
支援家長託管自閉子女
上一頁
將最好的給下一代,是大部份家長對自己的期望。當知道兒子耀光患上自閉症兼輕度智障之後,媽媽選擇咬緊牙關,默默承擔。轉眼數十載,白髮蒼蒼的她健康已大不如前,但仍要貼身看顧年近40的兒子,將來怎麼辦?直至認識救世軍的託管支援服務後,她才鬆一口氣。
 
70多歲的耀光媽媽拄着拐杖,陪兒子緩緩走進救世軍荔景院,難掩疲態。一路走來,單親媽媽扛起照顧自閉兒子的重責,「無人分擔,全都靠自己」,有苦自己知。
 
獨力支撐
 
回想耀光上幼稚園的時候,媽媽早已察覺不妥:為甚麼他只會自顧自玩耍?她機警地帶兒子到醫院評估,最後證實是自閉症兼輕度智障。那年代,普遍香港人對自閉症的認識和關注不足,服務也不夠普及,耀光媽媽對社區支援的了解不多,只好獨力支撐。
 
然而,踏入青春期後,因着生理和心理的變化,耀光經常失眠、發脾氣,精神健康大受影響,媽媽無奈將他送入醫院。好不容易等到兒子回家,卻又面對一連串管教困難。因社交能力欠佳,他的熱情和主動曾嚇怕異性;又因分析力不足,曾誤受不法之徒唆擺,不停購買私煙,鋪滿一牀,更曾模仿吸煙的姿態;飲食上亦不懂節制,三餐依靠媽媽準備清淡餸菜,保持健康。沉重的照顧壓力終令媽媽患上抑鬱症,不止一次暈倒入醫院。
 
紓緩照顧壓力
 
2010年,透過地區支援中心的介紹,耀光媽媽得悉救世軍荔景院提供暫宿服務,頓時喜出望外,參加了救世軍「結伴行-燃亮人生計劃」(自閉人士緊急介入家庭支援服務)。「自己可以休息一下,不用那麼辛苦,煮足三餐。」她笑着說:「每樣事都放心了。」院舍提供的飯菜美味而富營養,嘴饞的耀光也沒有怨言。每週三天,他到救世軍接受日間託管服務,其餘時間就回家生活。當媽媽身體不適進醫院時,他就到救世軍暫宿,叫媽媽安心。
 
救世軍提供的情緒輔導,紓緩了耀光頻繁洗手的強迫症症狀。院舍更安排了不同的興趣活動,發掘他的藝術才能。「我最叻造陶瓷!造杯呀,造枱呀......」他將熟悉的家具造成迷你版,媽媽不禁讚歎維妙維肖!但提及被安排學習做家務時,他即收起笑容,噘着嘴說:「我要掃地、換牀單...... 好熱好累的。」身旁的媽媽馬上回應:「能力做得到的,就要學懂自願做。」現在,他會在家幫忙收拾衣服、縫被子等,大大減輕了媽媽的負擔。
 
「如果早點認識救世軍就好了。」耀光媽媽說。在耀光輪候院舍宿位的過渡期間,母子倆仍能在熟悉的社區中生活,互相陪伴,有需要時得到適切的支援。
 

接觸你身邊的隱蔽家庭

救世軍社工洪雅倩直言,自閉人士家長的壓力多來自社會的歧視和白眼,以致部份有需要的家庭變得「隱蔽」,害怕被發現,更不曉得尋找社區支援服務。其實,他們非常渴望得到鄰里的接納和包容。如果你身邊有這類家庭,可從打招呼開始互相認識,再從日常的問候和關懷行動中建立互信,如分享飯菜、幫忙做家務等。當察覺他們需要尋求社區支援,可與救世軍「結伴行-燃亮人生計劃」聯絡。
 
查詢: 2744 1511
 

結伴行 ─ 燃亮人生計劃

針對不同自閉人士家庭的需要,救世軍於2001年起推行自閉症人士家庭支援服務。「結伴行- 燃亮人生計劃」( 自閉人士緊急介入家庭支援服務) 專門服務15歲或以上的自閉人士及其家庭,「離戶式」服務包括短暫住宿和訓練,幫助自閉人士重建作息規律、正向情緒、社交溝通等;「到戶式」服務則包括上門提供專業諮詢及指導,提升家長/照顧者的信心,以擔當訓練及管教的角色。
 
計劃提供專業個人及家庭輔導服務;另透過專題工作坊和親子小組等形式,幫助家長/照顧者掌握照顧自閉人士的知識和訓練技巧;並組織自閉人士家庭之間的互助網絡。
 
自從耀光(左)得到救世軍協助...
多年來,所有家務均由媽媽負...
耀光在救世軍學會造陶瓷,將...
音樂活動如彈琴有助耀光紓緩...
「結伴行- 燃亮人生計劃」( ...