Media Centre
Closer Parent-child Relationship, Higher Decision-making Ability
The Salvation Army Research on Young Night Drifters’ Decision-making Ability
back
Since 2001, The Salvation Army Services for Young Night Drifters has been reaching the young people wandering the streets in Tuen Mun. To review the situation of the young night drifters, the Army conducted a research on their decision-making ability. 166 service users aged 12 to 29 were interviewed in Tuen Mun from the end of November 2015 to January 2016. The research showed that in general, their abilities in self-control and making choices were not bad (table 2). However, nearly 40% of the interviewees were not living with their biological parents, which was six times higher than the average in Hong Kong. One-third of the interviewees were looked after by people other than their biological father or mother. Those having a good relationship with father or mother perceived themselves as people with higher self-control and decision-making abilities. It reflected the significance of care and guidance of biological parents to the growth of young people.        
 
The young interviewees thought that they were capable of making their own decisions related to daily life (average 3.4 points, maximum 5 points). Impact on future, influence of parents and one's own ability (table 3) were key factors affecting their decisions. More than 80% would listen to others’ viewpoints, over 70% would analyse pros and cons, and about 60% would assess their own abilities (table 4). They were confident in making the right decisions, which showed that the young night drifters were not reckless and merely driven by feelings.
 
According to the research, if the young interviewees were capable of managing their finance, their decision-making ability would be relatively higher. Father or mother was their role model of financial management. When they made decisions related to drug abuse and sex-related behaviour, they would refer to someone with similar experience and peers in family (i.e. siblings).
  
Nearly 40% of the interviewees were not living with their biological parents, which was six times of the results (6%) of the Hong Kong census 2011. One-third of the interviwees were not looked after by their biological parents (table 1). Many young night drifters have a complicated family. 
 
The interviewees having a good relationship with father or mother gave themselves higher points in the aspects of self-control, parental influence and making choices. It showed the significance of care and guidance of biological parents to the growth of young people (table 5). 
 
Case: Kaki Sham, aged 26
 
Actor, director and a member of the singing group “PlayTime”. Starred in High Noon and Weeds on Fire. After graduating from secondary school, he has tried different jobs. Although he dreamed of becoming an actor, he had not found any opportunities. He played football at leisure and wandered the streets with friends. Since 2006, he has joined the Salvation Army Services for Young Night Drifters, engaging in various activities to cultivate interests. Then in 2007, he had an opportunity to be an actor in High Noon, and started to develop his interest in film shooting and editing. At 18, he directed his first documentary Life Must Go On and won the gold award in Youth Category of the 14th ifva Award. Over the years, he has committed to the work in the foreground and behind the scenes. Director’s appreciation and family support have encouraged him to pursue his dream. 
 
In 2014, he assisted The Salvation Army Services for Young Night Drifters to launch a filming project “Live Again”, leading service users to produce a micro film to relfect the mentality of young drug addicts in different angles and demonstrate the efforts of the production team.
 
Conclusion and Suggestions
 
  • Everyone is unique and has his/ her own strengths, including the young night drifters. The Salvation Army helps develop their potentials and cultivate their interests so as to build their self-confidence and a positive self-image.
  • Young night drifters may consider different factors and understand their own constraints when they make decisions. Information provision and knowledge transfer can help them think thoroughly and make a more mature, responsible and suitable decision.
  • Biological parents have an irreplaceable influence on the youth. Living with or being looked after by biological parents can help young night drifters boost their self-control and decision-making abilities. Therefore, when Salvation Army social workers assist the youth, we also contact their parents to facilitate their mutual communication and encourage parents to understand the needs of their children.
  • Everyone has the ability to think and act independently. Parents are encouraged to believe their children’s analytical thinking ability and respect their ideas. The youth need guidance to build their own self-confidence in a supporting atmosphere. 
  • It is suggested that the public contact young night drifters with an open mind, understand their strengths and potentials, and show appreciation of their efforts.
 
The Salvation Army conducts...
After graduating from secon...
The interviewees with a goo...

新聞中心
救世軍夜展青少年抉擇力調查
與父母關係良好抉擇力越強
上一頁
自2001年起,救世軍在屯門成立深宵外展青少年服務,晚上在區內接觸流連街上的青年。在2015年11月底至2016年1月期間,救世軍就夜展青少年抉擇能力進行調查,在屯門訪問了166名12至29歲的服務對象。調查顯示,夜展青少年整體的「自我控制」能力和「在不同行為上自己做決定的情況和能力」(表二)並不遜色。卻同時發現近四成受訪者並非與原生雙親同住,較香港平均數高出五倍。三分一受訪者的主要照顧者為原生父或母以外人士。而那些與原生父母的相處愈好,其自制力和抉擇力相對較高,可見原生父母的關懷和引導對青少年的成長非常重要。
 
受訪青年認為自己有能力在生活上作出決定(平均得分3.4,滿分為5),他們作決定時會「考慮將來」、「父母影響」和「自己能力」(表三)。作決定的過程中,大部分會衡量決定對未來的影響,超過八成會聽取不同人的意見;多於七成會分析不同選擇的利弊;六成則會衡量自己的能力(表四)。受訪者有信心自己能夠作出正確的決定,可見夜展青少年並非如外界所認為的不顧後果及單憑感覺行事。
 
調查顯示,如果受訪青少年有能力作「自己的財政管理」,他們的抉擇力相對較高。而在財政管理上,父或母是他們的學習榜樣。當他們作與「濫用藥物」和「進行與性有關行為」的決定時,「有相關經驗的人」和「家中的平輩(如兄弟姐妹)」便是其仿傚對象。
 
調查又發現,接近四成受訪者並非與原生雙親同住,較香港在2011年度所進行的人口普查數字(約6%)高出五倍。三分一的主要照顧者為原生父或母以外人士(表一)。可見不少夜展青少年的成長環境較為複雜。
 
當中更值得留意的是,與父親或母親的相處情況愈好,他們在「自我控制」、「父母影響」及「在不同行為上自己做決定的情況和能力」方面均明顯有較高的自我評分,證明原生父母的關懷和引導對青少年的成長非常重要(表五)。
 
個案:岑珈其,26歲
 
演員、導演,組合PlayTime成員,電影《烈日當空》、《點五步》演員,中學畢業後曾從事不同工作,夢想成為演員但很可惜初時仍未找到機會,空餘時間除了踢足球,便是與波友在區內流連。自2006年起接觸救世軍深宵外展青少年服務,參與各類興趣發展活動。其後2007年有機會出道成為演員,演出電影《烈日當空》後開始對短片拍攝、剪接產生興趣。18歲首次執導紀錄片《活在當下》,並獲「第14屆ifva短片比賽」青少年組金獎。多年來從事幕後和幕前工作,演藝事業上時有挑戰,但在賞識他的導演和家人的支持下,繼續迎難而上,勇於追尋自己的夢想。
 
2014年以其專長協助救世軍深宵外展青少年服務推行「活.過.去」計劃,帶領夜展對象製作以濫藥青年心路歷程為主題製作微電影,讓社會以不同角度了解濫藥青年,展現製作團隊的努力。
 
總結和建議
 
  • 相信每個人都是獨特的,而每一個人定必有其強項,在社會邊緣的夜展青年亦一樣。因此救世軍幫助他們發掘潛能,培養興趣,建立自信和正面的自我形象。
  • 夜展青年在作抉擇的過程中會考慮不同因素,亦清楚自己的限制。因此,服務透過提供資訊和知識,促進他們對各項選擇有更全面的思考,以作出更成熟、合適和負責任的決定。
  • 原生父母在青年的成長過程中有不可替代的地位。與原生雙親同住或受他們照顧,能有助夜展青年提升「自我控制」及「在不同行為上自己做決定的情況和能力」。因此救世軍在接觸青年時,會主動聯絡其父母,幫助他們建立良好溝通,讓父母明白青年的需要。
  • 每人均有獨立思考和行動的能力。鼓勵家長相信青年同樣具備分析能力,引導他們學習作出關鍵決定,尊重他們的想法,從中累積經驗,在正面的氛圍下幫助他們建立自信。
  • 大眾可嘗試以不同的角度看待夜展青年,並嘗試以開放的態度和他們接觸,了解他們的強項及潛能,對他們有新的認識,並作出更正面的評價。

 

調查表一至五

救世軍就夜展青少年抉擇能力...
岑珈其中學畢業後曾從事不同...
與父親或母親的相處情況愈好...