Media Centre
The Salvation Army Opinion Poll on How Parents Value Playtime
Playing electronic games with children helps enhance parent-child relationship
back
According to the Three Character Classic, “Reward lies ahead of diligence, but nothing is gained by play” (勤有功,戲無益). This Chinese proverb has been deeply rooted in Chinese parents’ mind for centuries. They strongly believe that playing is much less important than formal learning.
 
To understand how Hong Kong parents are affected by this traditional concept, The Salvation Army Father.COME conducted an opinion poll between April and May 2015. 150 parents were interviewed. We found that 29.2% of parents agree with this proverb. However, playing less is not equal to working hard. Their children not only play less but also invest less time in doing homework. 
 
Worth to Play
 
The survey shows that the percentage of fathers who agree with the proverb "Reward lies ahead of diligence, but nothing is gained by play" (37.1%) is higher than that of mothers (22.4%). Mr Lam said that when his son was studying in Primary Four, his academic performance dropped significantly to the bottommost level of his form. Mr and Mrs Lam felt panic and immediately urged their son to study harder. Although they always reminded his son how important the academic performance was, his results did not improve. Worse still, their relationships began deteriorating. His son refused to communicate and go outdoor with them. 
 
Later, Mr Lam played more with his son and mentioned less about school work. Their father-son relationship improved. Mr Lam even asked his son to share his skills of playing video games. A closer relationship and quality playtime enabled his son to learn time management. Eventually, the academic results of his son rose, so he entered a desirable secondary school. 
 
Studies show that playing has positive impact on children’s development, especially for games without winning or losing results. It not only creates joyful experience to enhance parent-child relationship, but also reduces stress or negative emotions. The poll reviews that the children whose parents strongly agree with this proverb spend less time in “doing homework” both on school day or non-school day (school day: -0.115;non-school day: -0.342). Playing less is not equal to working hard.
 
The Salvation Army also found that, on average, the playtime of children is 87 minutes on school day and 158.9 minutes on non-school day respectively. In other words, Children’s playtime is enough. The main point is how to effectively use it so as to maximise the benefits of playing.  
 
Electronic Games Bridges Parents and Children
 
Mr Cheung Yu-chiu, Assistant Service Supervisor of The Salvation Army Chai Wan Integrated Service for Young People, said, “According to the poll, the parents agree that video game is their children's favourite (father: 59%; mother: 48%). We encourage parents, especially fathers, to respond to the expectations of their children, playing electronic games with them. Video games can be a media to facilitate their communication but the knowledge of how to use the games properly is also important.”
 
Father Be Children’s Playmate
 
While video game is children's favourite, mothers think that their children also enjoy outdoor activities (31%) and playing in the park (37%), which is not noticed by most of the fathers (15.4% and 13.4% respectively). Mr Chan often brings his daughter and son to the playground but rarely encounters other fathers. A woman has once asked him in the park, "Why do you have time to bring your children here? Nothing else to do (meaning unemployed) ?" Although this experience made him feel awkward, Mr Chan continues to bring his children to the park. He believes that playing in the park can enhance children’s social skills and muscle development. 
 
Parents expect that playing helps enhance children’s intellectual development (Top three: 47.0%, same as below), relationship building (41.0%), muscle development and skills development (both 34.0%). Compared between fathers and mothers, fathers emphasise more on muscle development. The Salvation Army also believes that father playing with children is crucial for the development of children.  
 
Parents Too Busy to Play with Children
 
Most of the parents understand that playing with their children is important. However, in the poll, we found that “no time” (Top three: 50.8%, same as below), “too tired” (46.9%) and “children have tests/ exams” (28.1%) were key factors hindering parents from playing with their children. Fathers (56.4%) are more affected by the factor of “too tired” than mothers (39.7%).  
 
“Too tired” may be a result of overstress or long working hours. The community should care for the parents who have no time to accompany their children due to these reasons.
 
Game Day on Father’s Day
 
To encourage fathers to play with their children, The Salvation Army Father.COME organised a Game Day on Father’s Day. Work hard, play hard. Fathers, please play with your children at least 15 minutes every day.
 
 

About Father.COME
 
Established in 2004, The Salvation Army “Father.COME” is a group of fathers who care about parenting and meet up regularly to share their experiences. In a relaxed atmosphere, the fathers exchange their experience in parenting, as well as their struggles in work and family. Mr Cheung Yu-chiu, the social worker of the group, says men’s emotions are more subtle. Combined with work pressure and little family time, fathers may find it hard to build up a close relationship with their children. A supporting network can thereby help them relieve stress and learn communication skills with children.
A happy family makes every...
Mr Lam played with his son ...

新聞中心
救世軍「勤有功,戲無益」意見調查發布
電玩玩得其所 促進親子關係
上一頁
「勤有功,戲無益」這出自《三字經》的名句,根深蒂固地植在我們心中,不少家長將督促子女學習列為首要任務,跟孩子玩耍放在其次。為了解現今家長如何受「勤有功,戲無益」這傳統概念影響,救世軍父親網絡Father.COME在今年四至五月,訪問了150位家長,發現兩成九 (29.2%)贊同「勤有功,戲無益」,贊同的父母亦因此減少與子女玩耍的時間,但原來這並不代表他們的孩子更加勤力用功;玩耍時間少,投放在功課上的時間也少。
 
「勤有功,戲『有』益」
 
意見調查中,贊同「勤有功,戲無益」的爸爸(37.1%)較媽媽(22.4%)多出近15%,但子女玩得少,未必會讀得多。林先生的兒子就讀小四時,成績突然大倒退,跌至全級榜尾位置。他和太太頓時緊張起來,出力催谷兒子,更經常向兒子強調學業的重要,但始終成績未見進步,親子關係卻開始惡化。兒子不肯與父母外出,亦不願跟他們溝通。後來,林先生轉換管教方針,減少與兒子談論功課,增加親子活動,甚至向兒子請教玩電子遊戲的竅門。透過玩耍、遊樂,父子關係更加親密,彼此的距離拉近了。數年間,兒子從遊戲中學懂時間分配,成績逐漸進步,最後憑個人實力考入心儀中學。
 
很多研究證實遊戲有正面的功能,因此「戲無益」並非事實。遊戲時沒有勝負,對兒童成長和親子關係大有幫助;同時可以減壓,如果子女情緒良好,亦有助學習。調查發現,越同意「戲無益」的家長,其子女在上學日和非上學日投入的「做功課」時間越少(上學日:-0.115;非上學日:-0.342)。這批子女,不但玩耍時間少,投放在功課上的時間也少。
 
救世軍發現,孩子在上學日的平均玩耍時數是87分鐘;非上學日為158.9分鐘,孩子的玩耍時間是足夠的,關鍵是如何有效地運用玩耍時間,協助子女從遊戲中成長。
 
電玩作親子互動媒介
 
救世軍柴灣青少年綜合服務助理高級主任張汝照表示,調查中,父母均認為電玩是子女最喜歡的遊戲(父: 59%; 母: 48%),因此鼓勵家長,特別是父親,可以嘗試將電玩成為與子女之間的互動媒介。如何利用電玩去促進親子關係是重要的課題,希望加強這方面的教育,回應子女對親子遊戲的期望。同時家長與孩子遊戲的種類要多樣化,促進關係和減壓之餘,達至均衡發展。
 
爸爸作兒子的玩伴
 
雖然電玩是子女最喜歡的遊戲;但是媽媽也認為子女喜歡戶外活動(31%)及到公園遊玩(37%),這是爸爸較少留意到的(分別15.4%和13.4%)。陳先生經常帶同兩名子女到公園玩耍,但卻很少碰到其他爸爸。他曾經在公園被婦女問道:「為甚麼有空帶子女來,是否沒事做(失業)?」這經歷雖然令他感到尷尬,但陳先生仍然認為到公園玩耍可以提昇子女社交技巧,促進肌肉發展,因此會繼續在公園享受親子樂。
 
調查顯示,父母替子女選擇遊戲時,較著重「智能發展」(首3個選擇:47.0%,下同)、「促進關係」(41.0%)、「肌肉發展」和「技巧發展」(各34.0%)。在比較爸爸及媽媽的數據後,爸爸更希望藉著遊戲增強孩子的「肌肉發展」;同時,救世軍也相信父親多參與家庭活動和親子遊戲,對兒童的成長和發展是很重要的。
 
忙碌影響親子遊戲時間
 
既然大部份家長同意玩耍的好處,但他們亦會因「無時間玩」(首3個選擇:50.8%,下同),「太疲倦」(46.9%) 及「孩子需測驗 /考試」(28.1%)而無法與子女玩耍。其中,以「太疲倦」為原因的爸爸(56.4%)較媽媽(39.7%)的高。
 
家長「太疲倦」可能由於工作壓力太大戓工時長所引致。那些因工作壓力或工時過長而較少參與家庭生活的父母,值得社會關注和關心。
 
父親節遊戲日
 
為了推廣父親與孩子玩耍的重要,救世軍父親網絡Father.COME今日(6月21日)舉行「父親節遊戲日」,希望帶出「勤有功,戲『有』益」的信息,分享玩耍的好處,鼓勵爸爸每天至少與孩子玩15分鐘。
 
 

關於父親網絡Father.COME
 
救世軍父親網絡Father.COME成立於2004年,凝聚一群樂於參與管教子女課程的父親,定期分享心得,在輕鬆氣氛下交流養兒育女的經驗,抒發現代男性在工作和家庭之間的掙扎。負責社工張汝照表示,男士的感情內斂,加上工作壓力大,與子女相處的時間少,使親子間欠缺可親性。如果爸爸建立了自己的支援網絡,得到紓緩,學習溝通技巧,便能建立深厚的親子關係。
一家人開心就每日都是父親節...
林先生跟兒子玩耍、打遊戲機...