Media Centre
Light Angel Walkathon 2015
The Salvation Army & Rotary Club of Peninsula Sunrise Subsidise the Elderly to Cure Eye Diseases
back
Senior citizens contributed their young years to the society. When they are getting old, their eyes deteriorate and their eyesight becomes poor. If elderly people overlook the symptoms of eye diseases, they may be blind for late consultation. The Salvation Army collaborates with the Rotary Club of Peninsula Sunrise to organise the Light Angel Walkathon 2015, raising funds for the eye care and eye treatment of the elderly in need.
 
Subsidise the Elderly to Cure Eye Diseases
The Light Angel Walkathon 2015 was held this morning (18 January 2015, Sunday) along Shing Mun River in Shatin. The kick-off ceremony was officiated by Dr Ko Wing-man, BBS, JP, Secretary for Food and Health of the HKSAR Government; Lieut-Colonel Ian Swan, Officer Commanding of The Salvation Army; Ms Belinda Yeung, District Governor of Rotary International District 3450; Dr Jeffrey Pong, Chairman of Hong Kong Federation of Societies for Prevention of Blindness; and Mr Daniel Wong, Executive Director of Midland IC&I Limited. They expressed their heartfelt gratitude to the participants of the Walkathon. Their support helps raise funds for the eye care of the elderly.
 
Started at The Salvation Army Tin Ka Ping School, the course was set along Shing Mun River in Shatin. Certificates were presented to the participants who walked the full course. To raise the awareness of eye diseases of the elderly, an “eye disease experiential course” was set to provide special eyeglasses which helped the participants feel the impacts of three common eye diseases (diabetes, glaucoma and cataract) among senior citizens.
 
The elderly people suffering from eye diseases joined the Walk with their family members and volunteers to show their support and gratefulness for the care of the community. Volunteers from Midland IC&I Limited also tendered their full support to help raise funds for the eye care of senior citizens.
 
The proceeds of the Light Angel Walkathon 2015 will go to the Light Angel Elderly Eye Care Project, providing eye check-up service, organising eye care seminars, and subsidising the less fortunate elderly to have eye surgery.
Dr Ko Wing-man, BBS, JP, Se...
Participants raise funds fo...
Participants raise funds fo...
Special eyeglasses provided...

新聞中心
光明天使慈善行2015
救世軍、半島旭日扶輪社資助長者,治療眼疾
上一頁
長者勞碌大半生,為社會作出了不少貢獻,他們年紀漸長時,眼睛便開始退化,視力出現毛病。有許多長者常常忽略眼疾徵狀,有時因為延誤醫治,甚至導致永久失明,令家人和照顧者非常擔心。救世軍與半島旭日扶輪社為了讓大眾認識及關注長者眼疾問題,特別舉辦了「光明天使慈善行2015」,為一眾長者的「靈魂之窗」籌款,資助長者們盡快治療眼疾。
 
資助長者治療眼疾
「光明天使慈善行2015」今日早上(1月18 日•星期日)於沙田城門河岸舉行,起步禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生、救世軍總指揮施宏恩上校、國際扶輪3450地區總監楊碧瑤女士、香港防盲協會主席龐朝輝醫生及美聯工商舖行政總裁黃漢成先生。他們感謝步行人士為長者的眼睛健康出力,並期望活動能令更多長者關注眼睛健康,及早治療眼疾。
 
參加者由救世軍田家炳學校起步,圍繞沙田城門河步行一周,完成步行者獲發證書一張。另外,為引起大家關注長者眼疾問題,大會更於當日設置「眼疾體驗步行區」,特製一批按三種常見長者眼疾 (糖尿病、青光眼及白內障) 病況的眼鏡,讓現場參加者親身感受患上眼疾的感覺。
 
一批患有眼疾的長者在家人及義工的陪同下亦會參加今次步行,以示支持及感謝社會人士的關注。美聯工商舖義工隊亦全力支持今次義舉,協助長者治療眼疾。
 
「光明天使慈善行2015」所得善款將用於推廣「光明天使長者護眼計劃」,提供眼科檢查服務及眼科講座予有需要的長者;並資助貧困長者進行眼疾治療手術。
食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生...
參加者為「光明天使長者護眼...
參加者為「光明天使長者護眼...
參加者戴上特製眼鏡親身感受...