Media Centre
Recycling through ‘Trade-in’ Campaigns
The Salvation Army Finds New Owners for Used Items
back
Want to buy a new luggage to fit your needs better but don’t want to waste your old one? You can create a win-win situation by donating it to The Salvation Army via its ‘luggage trade-in’ recycling campaign to enjoy sales discount while helping others. 
 
Second-hand luggage is one of the best-sellers at The Salvation Army Family Stores among all the products collected via the recycling campaigns the Army has organised with 12 brands over the past year. Over 1,600 pieces of used luggage were collected and resold at prices ranging from HK$50 to 120. 
 
The Salvation Army Recycling Programme has also collaborated with 3 mobile phone brands over the past year and collected over 400 well-functioning smartphones and non-smartphones. 200 collected smartphones were transferred to street sleepers and grassroots elderly under Salvation Army service, whereas the remaining was sold for charity at the Family Stores. The donated phones come in helpful when street sleepers try to find a job and make a positive change for their lives. For the elderly people, smartphones help improve communication with their family and friends. The elderly learnt how to use these phones at workshops organised by the vendors. They beamed with delight when they successfully contacted their relatives and friends using the smartphones.
 
With the support of various brands, The Salvation Army collected other items in the past year, including clothes, shoes, bags, toys and televisions. Mr Ronald Ho, Senior Manager of The Salvation Army Recycling Programme said, ‘We’re grateful to the citizens for their in-kind donation of clean and undamaged items, so that people in need may either receive these items free of charge, or purchase them at a low price at our Family Stores, while the used items are given a second life.’
 
About The Salvation Army Recycling Programme
After the big fire in the Shek Kip Mei squatter area in 1953, over 50,000 victims lost their homes. The Salvation Army called upon the community to donate clothing to provide for the victims’ needs. Since then, The Salvation Army’s work in recycling materials has impressed the community. Many citizens donate their clothes at the Army’s Centres. To make good use of the donated items, since the 1960s, The Salvation Army Recycling Programme was established to systematically manage the donated clothes and goods. Donated items are sorted and distributed. Some will be directly sent to the people in need, such as elderly living alone, street sleepers, ex-prisoners and CSSA recipients. Others are sold in Family Stores. The net proceeds will go to The Salvation Army for use across its community programmes. 
 
The Salvation Army Recyclin...
Elderly learn to contact th...
Donated used luggage is one...
Mr Ronald Ho, Senior Manage...

新聞中心
「舊換新」活動回收二手物品
救世軍幫舊物找新主人
上一頁
家裏行李箱不合用,想買新的又煩惱如何處置舊物,不如捐出舊物予救世軍;若適逢救世軍與品牌合辦回收活動,還可以享有購物優惠,既買得合用貨品,又幫助別人,達到雙贏效果。救世軍過去一年跟12個品牌合作舉辦回收活動,當中行李箱「舊換新」活動,共回收1,600多個二手行李箱;救世軍家品店以每個50- 120元義賣,是最受歡迎的二手物品之一。
 
另外,救世軍循環再用計劃過去一年跟3個手機品牌合作,共回收400多部操作正常的智能和非智能手機,200部智能手機轉送給救世軍服務的露宿者和基層長者,其餘在家品店義賣。市民捐出的智能手機可以幫助露宿者找工作,脫離漂泊生活。對長者來說,智能手機可以加強他們與親友聯繫,長者在商戶安排的工作坊學習使用智能手機,當成功聯絡親友時,立即露出窩心的笑容。
 
在品牌支持下,救世軍過去一年回收的其他物品包括衣服、鞋、袋、玩具和電視。救世軍循環再用計劃高級經理何志輝表示:「感謝市民捐出清潔完好物品,令有需要的人免費取得或在家品店以廉價購買,為舊物帶來第二個生命。」
 
關於救世軍循環再用計劃
1953年,石硤尾木屋區大火, 50,000多名災民痛失家園,為了向災民提供衣物,救世軍在社區募捐衣服。自此,救世軍回收物資的工作令人印象深刻,經常有市民將衣物放在中心。為了善用捐贈物資,救世軍在1960年代開展循環再用計劃,系統地處理市民捐出的衣服及物資,將物品分類後,部份直接贈予社會上有需要的人,如獨居長者、露宿者、更生人士及領綜援人士等;其餘的則於救世軍家品店作義賣,收益用於救世軍推行的社區服務。
救世軍循環再用計劃將回收的...
獲贈智能手機的長者學習以通...
市民捐出的行李箱是家品店最...
救世軍循環再用計劃高級經理...