Media Centre
Chinese New Year Reunion Dinner for 200 Solitary Elders
back
A traditional Chinese reunion dinner is important in the eyes of the elderly. When we gather with our families on Chinese New Year Eve, what happen to the solitary elderly who also wish to be loved by people around? That is why The Salvation Army invited 200 elders, who live alone or are without family support, to come to our reunion dinners in elderly centres on 27 January 2017. They enjoyed a joyful moment with other elderly friends at their familiar centres, and received gifts sponsored by The Bank of East Asia, Limited, and the Rotary Club of Peninsula Sunrise.
 
Seven Salvation Army elderly centres are serving the elderly living in Yau Tsim Mong, Chuk Yuen, Tai Wo Hau, Tai Hang Tung, Tai Po and Aberdeen districts. Some of the service users, who have a weak family support network, are singleton elders, hidden elders or those living with their spouses. The Army has received positive response from the reunion dinner participants for the past four years, so this year we invited 200 elders to gather at the centre in their own district to enjoy a heart-warming moment with their fellows and Salvation Army staff. The Rotary Club of Peninsula Sunrise sponsored poon choi and more than 100 scarves for the elderly at The Salvation Army Yaumatei Multi-service Centre for Senior Citizens.
 
Games and songs were arranged for all participants, followed by the reunion dinner and dumpling dessert. By the end of the event, all elders received gift sacks sponsored by The Bank of East Asia, Limited. Through holding this reunion dinner, the Army hopes to promote the spirit of caring for the elderly in the community, especially the elderly in need.
 
The elderly gather to enjoy...
Fai Chun (red banners) desi...
Volunteers from the Rotary ...
Gifts for the elderly inclu...

新聞中心
救世軍關懷無依長者
200人「千歲宴」 溫馨慶團年
上一頁
農曆新年是中國傳統節慶,全家團圓一起吃「團年飯」對年長一輩尤其重要。當大家與親人在除夕夜聚首一堂,共享團年飯時,可有想起那些沒有家人照顧的孤獨長者?他們同樣渴望熱熱鬧鬧地慶祝團年,歡歡喜喜地送舊迎新。救世軍明白無依長者的孤清,所以今天(年三十 ‧ 2017年1月27日)邀請了近200名獨居、孤寡或沒有家人照顧的長者,分別在各區的救世軍長者服務單位,跟他們熟識的「老友記」共晉團年飯,並接受東亞銀行和半島旭日扶輪社送贈的禮品,過一個溫馨、喜樂的大除夕。
 
救世軍七間長者中心分別服務油尖旺、竹園、大窩口、大坑東、大埔和香港仔的長者,當中有不少是家庭支援網絡較弱的獨居或兩老共住的長者,更有一些是需要社工主動接觸的隱蔽長者。過去四年,救世軍為無依長者舉辦團年飯活動,得到參加者及社區人士的正面迴響。為鼓勵我們的社區繼續傳揚關愛長者的信息,本軍今年再接再厲,安排200多位長者分別在各區的救世軍長者服務單位,與其他境況相近的「老友記」和救世軍職員一起慶團年,出席為他們特意預備的「溫情暖意千歲宴」活動。半島旭日扶輪社特別贊助油麻地長者社區服務中心設盆菜宴,並捐贈過百條圍巾,務求令獨居及隱蔽的長者享用一頓熱鬧而溫暖的團年飯。
 
「老友記」和職員一起唱賀年歌、玩遊戲及訂立新年願望,然後共晉團年飯及湯圓糖水。各區參與的長者均獲得由東亞銀行送贈的福袋,祝願他們心靈上全年都富足。救世軍希望藉着活動鼓勵社區人士關懷家中長輩及隔鄰長者,發揮「老吾老以及人之老」的精神,讓有需要長者能感受到人間有愛。
 

 

「老友記」聚首一堂共晉團年飯。
揮春設計遊戲
扶輪社義工將東亞銀行贊助的...
送給長者的禮物有麵食、餅乾...