Work in Mainland China
Rebuild Homes after Disasters - Reconstructing Reservoirs to Boost Rural Economy
back
Can a furnished flat within four walls be regarded as a real home? The 2008 earthquake of magnitude 8 destroyed the production facilities of Qingquan Village, Zitong County in Sichuan, which severely affected farmland yields. Villagers had no choice but to work in the cities while their children were left behind in pain because of family separation. The Salvation Army rebuilt nearby reservoirs and irrigation canals, giving the villagers a glimmer of hope of returning home to run a farm and reunite with their families, building their real homes together.
 
Wang Xiao-lun, aged 68, used to farm for a living with his family of five. But alas, the irrigation all depended on a nearby river. During the busy farming season in April and May, villagers might quarrel and fight for water. The outcomes of their hard work were crops of about 200 kg per acre of land being sold at a low price. The Wang family decided not to farm anymore.
 
Leaving the Farmland for the City
 
Other villagers gave up on farming subsequently. Young people like Uncle Wang’s son and daughter-in-law moved to the city for work, leaving the elderly and children behind in the villages. Without their parents’ care, the “left-behind children” were lonely and lost, adversely affecting their psychological development. The 280 acres of land that used to provide them with their own grains and vegetables became choked with weeds. The Wang family had to buy the more expensive food from the market, forcing them to lead a meager life.
 
Later, Uncle Wang heard that The Salvation Army was beginning to tackle the irrigation issue. At first he was doubtful. In 2014, The Salvation Army rebuilt two reservoirs and the irrigation canals of 1,000 metres. By the time Uncle Wang saw water trickling down the canals and witnessed the barren land turning into deep blue paddy fields like a blue gem glittering on the ground, he finally believed it was true.
 
Family Reunion
 
The former villagers had the opportunity to get back into farming. The Wang family became hopeful. In 2015, their 3.8 acres of paddy fields yielded over 1,500 kg of rice, doubling past harvests. The other 2.6 acres of fields yielded over 5,000 kg of vegetables, 500 kg of corn, and 6,000 kg of sweet potatoes. Young people are now willing to come back to the village. They no longer argue for water supply; rather, they always help one another.
 
Uncle Wang also joined the pig farm project to increase the family income so that his son and daughter-in-law no longer work in the city and can reunite with the family. 70 households in Qingquan Village took part in the project, each was given two sows. Ordinary pig breeds have a market price of RMB 17 per kg, but that of the Canadian landrace pigs provided by The Salvation Army (lean meat of pigs) is RMB 20 per kg, which significantly increases the villagers’ income. Revitalising agriculture has brought livelihood, harmony and reunion to Qingquan Village, helping villagers rebuild a real home after the disaster.
 

Disaster-struck Families Scattered for a Living
 
The 2008 Sichuan Earthquake of magnitude 8 severely damaged houses and production facilities in many rural villages and devastated the local economy. Parents were forced to work in the city, leaving their children behind in the villages. Lacking the love from their family, the children’s personality and mental development may be affected. 
 
Over the past years, The Salvation Army has been assisting with the reconstruction of the quake-stricken areas, rebuilding the rural economy. Projects such as reservoirs and irrigation canals reconstruction as well as pig farm project have helped resume the local production so that villagers may return to their hometown for farming and taking care of their children. Moreover, The Salvation Army has launched the school social worker service for the left-behind children in Zitong County, helping them deal with issues in their personal development, studies and family matters.
With sufficient irrigation ...
The Salvation Army rebuilt ...
Water coming from the 1,000...
After joining the pig farm ...
Uncle Wang’s family reunite...

救世军在中国内地
真•重建灾区家园 - 修建水塘振兴农村经济
上一页
四堵牆,放家具,就等于有「家」吗?经历了2008年的八级大地震后,四川梓潼县清泉村生产设施受损,严重影响农民生计。村民被迫出城谋生,遗下孤单的「留守儿童」饱受思亲之苦,骨肉分离。为了能从根本改变这情况,救世军就在附近修建了水塘和灌溉渠,使村民能够回乡务农,与亲人团聚,重建心中的家。
 
68岁的王孝伦(王伯伯),一家五口本以务农为生,但灌溉只靠附近一条小河,每到四、五月旱季,村民就常为取水而争执、打架。最后辛苦耕耘的结果,仅是每亩约200公斤的农作物,而且卖不出好价钱,王伯伯一家就决定不再务农了。
 
弃农出城
 
其他农户也陆续放弃,年轻如王伯伯的儿子和儿媳妇都出城打工。静静的村子遗下老人和小孩,「留守儿童」没有爸妈照顾,不免感到孤单失落,心理成长大受影响。放眼张望,280多亩田地杂草丛生,从前吃自家的米粮、蔬果,现在要上市场买贵菜,王伯伯家的生活难免捉襟见肘。
 
后来听说救世军会着手解决灌溉问题,王伯伯半信半疑。2014年,救世军修建了两个水塘和1,000米灌溉渠,当王伯伯看着流水涓涓汇入,旱地变成深蓝色的水田,像蓝宝石一样镶在土地上的时候,他相信了!
 
一家团聚
 
老农有机会重操故业,王伯伯全家都看见了希望。2015年,他们3.8亩的水田产出大米1,500多公斤,比从前多一倍;另外2.6亩地产出蔬菜5,000多公斤,玉米500多公斤,红薯6,000多公斤。年轻人都愿意回乡发展,村民也毋须再为取水伤和气,反而经常相互帮忙,睦邻友好。
 
王伯伯家还决定参加救世军的养猪项目,增加收入,那麽儿子和儿媳妇就不用出城打工,孙子也能重投爸妈的怀抱了。清泉村共有70户参与计划,每户获发两头母猪。一般品种的肥猪市价每公斤17元(人民币•下同),而救世军提供的加系长白猪(瘦肉型肥猪)市价每公斤20元,大大提升了村民的收入。振兴农业为清泉村带来生机,带来和睦,带来团圆,重建了灾后真正的家园。
 

灾民为生计四散
 
四川省2008年的八级大地震,令许多农村的房屋和生产设施严重受损,打击当地经济。父母被迫外出打工,令留守农村的孩子因缺乏家庭温暖,造成性格和心理障碍。多年来,救世军一直帮助受灾地区,重建灾区的农村经济,包括修建水塘和灌溉渠、养猪项目等,使当地恢復生产,村民能回乡务农和照顾孩子。另外,救世军在梓潼县开展留守儿童驻校社工项目,帮助留守儿童面对成长中的个人、学业和家庭困难。
有了足够的灌溉水,王伯伯一...
救世军在清泉村附近修建了两...
1,000米的灌溉渠流入农田, ...
王家参加了救世军的养猪项目...
王伯伯一家不用为生计各散东...