Work in Mainland China
Lift Farmers out of Poverty - Planting Training Improves Fruit Farmers’ Livelihood in Mainland China
back
Agricultural development cannot keep pace with that of the city in the Mainland. Farmers began to make a living in urban areas, while the women left behind became the major farm workforce. Many women lack the knowledge of science and management skills, which result in poor harvests and affect their income. Madam Zhao’s family is an example - they became a poverty-stricken farm household for various reasons including illnesses. A small fruit farm was no longer sufficient to support a family of five. Two years ago, The Salvation Army began to provide training on fruit growing, helping a hundred fruit farmers including Madam Zhao to boost their income, thus improving their quality of life.
 
Madam Zhao lives in Tielu Village of Mengjin County in Luoyang City, Henan Province. Her husband, almost 70, failed to find odd jobs due to his old age. Madam Zhao’s son and daughter-in-law were too sick to work. Even with the government’s living allowances, the whole family’s livelihood still relies on the meagre income from the 65-year-old grandmother Madam Zhao, who works tirelessly in a small pear orchard.
 
Low Tech, Low Income
 
“Our pear trees only took up a 0.6 acre of land. I didn’t know how to plant, so I just followed what the others did.” Two years ago, a year’s hard work of Madam Zhao yielded a harvest of 1,000 kg of pears, which were sold at a total of RMB 2,000. But as soon as the money was received, she had no choice but to hand it all over to the hospital for her daughter-in-law’s annual medical fee. “The pears were too small, so they were not sold at a very good price.” At this point, Madam Zhao tried to hold back her tears, just the way she had borne the heavy burden of her family.
 
The only comfort for Madam Zhao was her 10-year-old granddaughter. “My granddaughter studies well. The teachers like her a lot. She is a considerate girl. She always helps me with chores after school.” Madam Zhao paused, and went on, “She told me she wanted a pair of roller skates, because she saw her classmates skating at school. But they cost RMB 90, too expensive for me to afford them...”
 
Training Helps Double The Harvest
 
Madam Zhao’s situation provided a glimpse into the problems shared by many other local fruit farmers. The Salvation Army has launched poverty alleviation projects in many places of Luoyang City, and fruit farmers are one of the beneficiaries. Upon assessment of the farmers’ needs, The Army started to work with two local organisations to implement the Women Fruit Planting Training Project in four counties. The training provided to 100 fruit farmers included information on techniques which could be applied, field practices and advanced planting tools; with the trainer being on hand to answer the farmer’s questions. After each training session, Madam Zhao would try the new techniques in her own farm. She said, “Now I can save more money for my family and my fruit trees yield better, bigger fruit.”
 
The harvest of Madam Zhao’s pear trees has doubled to 2,000 kg, boosting the total income to almost RMB 6,000. She has now taken on another 1.8 acre of farmland to plant vegetables. It is expected to increase their annual income by RMB 10,000! “Last time, before the examinations of my granddaughter, I told her I would buy her a pair of roller skates if she could get good results.” Talking about this, Madam Zhao beamed. “She studied really hard and did very well! So I bought her the skates. She was thrilled! That night, she put them on and skated around at home!” Madam Zhao delightfully told us her hope for the future, “Next year when we make a profit, I will buy a fridge, an air-conditioner...”
 

Extend The Project And Benefit More Fruit Farmers
 
Henan Province is one of the provinces with the largest number of migrant rural labourers. Luoyang City is a typical city of imbalanced urban-rural development in the Province. Many villages and counties are desperate for support. The Salvation Army’s Women Fruit Planting Training Project has been highly recommended by the citizens over the past two years. The neighbouring poor areas are also applying for the project implementation. The Salvation Army hopes to extend the project further, lifting more farmers out of poverty and improving their lives.
 
After receiving the trainin...
Participants pay attention ...
The project provides field ...
Madam Zhao can afford a pai...

救世军在中国内地
助小农户脱贫 - 种植培训改善内地果农生活
上一页
内地农业追不上城市发展,农民纷纷出城谋生,留守的妇女则成为农耕的主力。可惜,不少妇女缺乏科学技术兼管理不善,导致收成欠佳,影响收入。赵婆婆一家更因疾病等原因,成为贫困农户,一片小果园实难支撑一家五口。两年前,救世军开始提供果树种植技术培训,帮助百名果农增加收入,从而提升生活质素;赵婆婆亦参与计划,生活得以改善。
 
赵婆婆住在河南省洛阳市孟津县的铁炉村,丈夫年近70,一直尝试找散工,但因年事过高,常吃闭门羹,儿子和儿媳也因病无法工作。除了政府的生活补贴,全家就靠65 岁的婆婆耕耘一小块梨树园的收入来生活。
 
技术低 收入少
 
「我家梨树只有6分(0.6亩)地,我也不会种,就跟着人家弄,别人怎麽弄我就怎麽弄。」两年前,赵婆婆用365天的汗水,收获1,000公斤梨,售出,这边接过2,000元,那边就双手奉送了,因为儿媳的一年住院费又到期了。「果子结得还是不好,个儿小,卖不出好价钱。」说到这里,她眼眶红了,却忍住泪水,如忍耐生活的重担。
 
婆婆唯一的慰藉,就是10岁的小孙女。「我的孙女学习可好了!而且特别懂事,老师们都喜欢她,回到家就帮我干活,可听话。」她顿一顿,续说:「小孙女跟我说看学校里同学滑旱冰(即滚轴熘冰),她也想要个旱冰鞋,但是要90块钱,太贵了,不捨得给她买⋯⋯」
 
培训后收成增一倍
 
赵婆婆的困难,亦是当地不少果农的写照。救世军在洛阳市不少地方开展扶贫工作,而果农是其中一个受助对象。救世军在评估果农的需要后,即与洛阳市老区建设促进会和洛阳园艺站合作,在四个县推行「果农妇女果树种植技术培训」计划,为100名果农提供技术讲解、实地训练、科学种植工具等,并有技术指导师解答疑难。赵婆婆每次上完培训课,回家后便立即到农地採用新技术。她说:「现在不仅给家裡省了钱,而且还把果树种得更好,结的果儿更多更大了!」
 
赵婆婆的梨树收成增长一倍至2,000公斤,收入增至近6,000元,于是又承包了1.8亩的蔬菜棚,预计每年可增加近10,000元收入!「上次考试前,我跟孙女说,考得好我就给她买旱冰鞋。」说到这里,婆婆笑逐颜开,「她可认真学习了,考完后分数可好!我就给她买了旱冰鞋,哎呦,她可高兴了,当天晚上就在屋里穿着鞋滑来滑去的,不捨得脱啊!」婆婆高兴地说出对未来的期盼:「明年我们挣了钱,我还要给家里买冰箱、买空调⋯⋯」
 

延伸项目惠及更多小果农
 
河南省是输出农民工最多的省份之一,而古都洛阳市是该省城乡发展不平衡的典型城市,不少乡县同样贫困,亟待支援。救世军的「果农妇女果树种植技术培训」计划,两年来备受当地市民推崇,周边贫困地区也希望能申请有关项目。救世军期望将项目延伸至更多地区,帮助更多农民脱贫,改善他们的生活!
赵婆婆参加救世军计划后,种...
妇女认真上培训课程,并将所...
计划提供实地训练,并有技术...
现在,赵婆婆有能力买滚轴熘...