Work in Mainland China
"Red Pomelos" Bring Sichuan Back to Life After the Quake

We still remember the devastating earthquake in the afternoon of 12 May 2008. Countless lives and buildings were swallowed in an instant. The victims lost their families and properties. Sorrow reigned over the quakestricken areas. Many villagers of the affected Wujialing Village, Luojiang County, Deyang City lost their homes and livelihoods. With the generous donation from various sectors, The Salvation Army has been able to help the villagers regain their living from the land by planting “Chinese red pomelos”. Six years have passed. The pomelo trees have finally born fruit. Fields of the quake-hit areas have been revitalised and the victims wear smiles on their faces.

Situated in the northwest of Deyang City, Sichuan, 50 per cent of the houses in Wujialing Village were damaged during the 512 Wenchuan Earthquake. The rest were not suitable for residence. Production facilities we re also severely damaged. Villagers who had led a simple agricultural life were living in dire conditions after the earthquake.

Dependence on the Land
Since 2008 The Salvation Army has been striving to support the economic development of the village, to help the victims restore their livelihoods. The villagers having always sustained life by farming and planting will never abandon their way of land, even after the calamitous earthquake. Their hope is that with the help of The Salvation Army, and the planting of the “Chinese red pomelos” their chosen lifestyle may continue.

With stable profits, the Wujialing villagers had regained control. The local climate and soil conditions are favourable for growing and the fruit is easy to store. Among all types of pomelos in the nation, the “Chinese red pomelos” is one of the better quality and the price over the recent years has been high. With the support from The Salvation Army, a total of 1,454 villagers from 448 households began planting “Chinese red pomelos” from October 2009.

During the following three years, The Salvation Army assisted with plating technology, training classes and free fertilizer. The entire village witnessed the growth of the saplings. By 2012, this once devastated land was finally produced their first pomelo harvest.

Save Elder Couple from Misery
Uncle Zeng and his wife had been taking care of their mentally-ill son and their young grandson. Uncle Zeng was almost 70 years old when the earthquake struck. Watching their damaged house, Zeng knew that he would be unable to support the family any longer. Out of despair he contemplated suicide. Fortunately the commercial forest plantation project of The Salvation Army brought Uncle Zeng hope. Uncle Zeng said, “After the quake, the villagers went to work in other places but I was too old to go. The Salvation Army project has given me a sustainable business. Seeing the trees grow day after day makes me feel more secure. My son starts taking up some of the farming duties. ‘Red pomelos’ have changed the life of our family!”

During the first harvest in 2012, fruit thinning was carried out so that future harvests would not be affected by tree aging process. The average profit of each peasant household was about RMB 1,000 only. As with the second harvest in 2013, the peasant households had a bumper harvest and each earned an average of RMB 6,000 plus.

Stay with Their Own Family
Pomelo farming has not only helped Zeng’s family turn around in their difficulties. It has also brought changes to the family life of the villagers. Now, many of them no longer need to work in other cities. They can choose to stay home to manage the tree-planting and develop their own fruit planting business. On their own piece of land which is both respected and feared, they share every important moment in their life with their children and parents.


You Help The Salvation Army Rebuild Sichuan
Apart from the fruit plantation project, The Salvation Army has launched reconstruction works in Shifang City, Mianzhu City, Guanghan City and Luojiang County. A total of 358 village clinics have been built. The outpatient building of the Tiemenkan Hospital in Shifang City, Sichuan Province completely collapsed during the earthquake. The Salvation Army rebuilt the inpatient and outpatient buildings of the Hospital, repaired and reinforced the original wards with the provision of medical equipment and training funds.

Moreover, as a relief effort for the lack of water after the quake, The Salvation Army rebuilt irrigation channels and launched the drinking water project in Zhongxin Village, Guangji Town and Penghua Village, Zundao Town in Mianzhu City; and Daya Village and Wanan Village, Yanjia Town in Luojiang County.

To help schools resume classes, The Salvation Army also provided facilities for 33 schools in Jingyang District of Deyang City and 7 schools in Mao County respectively.

With a bumper harvest of th...
The plantation project has ...
The earthquake turns Uncle ...
Each and every household of...

救世军在中国内地
四川地震之后 -「红心柚」令大地重现生机
上一页

还记得2008年5月12日的下午,四川那翻天覆地的强烈地震,剎那间吞噬了无数的生命和楼房,灾民顿失家人和财产,灾区哀嚎遍野。受灾的德阳市罗江县吴家陵村本来已很穷困,地震后灾民家园损毁,生计尽失。在各界的踊跃捐助下,救世军帮助该村村民继续依靠土地过活,开始种植「中华红心柚」。六个年头后,柚树终于结果了,灾区田间再现生机,灾民重现欢颜。

吴家陵村位处四川德阳市西北部,在512汶川大地震中全村五成房屋倒塌了,其余都变成危房,不能居住;而生产设施亦严重受损。本来过着农耕生活的清贫村民,地震后生活就更加困苦。

离不开土地
为了扶助灾民恢复生计,救世军2008年开始支持他们发展村内经济。作为在农村生活的人,素来依靠耕种或养殖维生,纵使地震是多么可怕,地上的一切可以顷刻消逝,但村民仍然深信土地是父母,不能离开;并希望靠着救世军的援助,尝试种植「中华红心柚」,开拓一条新的出路。

「中华红心柚」是国产柚子中较好的品种,而柚子近年市场价格高而平稳,又容易储藏。吴家陵村的村民看准了柚子的稳定回报,加上当地适宜的气候和土壤,便在救世军的支援下,全村448户共1,454人,于2009年10月开始栽种「中华红心柚」。

三年间,救世军向村民免费派发肥料,又开办种植技术培训班,整条村子,家家户户一同见证树苗的成长。直至2012年,这块曾经震碎他们家园的土地,终于带来了第一次丰收的喜悦。

解救年老夫妇
曾伯伯和老伴一直照顾着患精神病的儿子和年幼的孙儿,地震那年,他年近70,看着已成危房的家园,觉得自己根本无法继续撑起这个家,就在他走投无路,絶绝望得想一死了之的时候,救世军的经济林种植项目为他带来了希望。曾伯伯说:「我太老了,地震后,我不能像其它村民出外打工。救世军的项目使我有了持续发展的产业,看着果树一天天的长大,心里便踏实了;儿子也开始分担农务,『红心柚』改变了我们家的生活!」

在2012年的第一次收成时,因为怕果树老化影响日后的收成,所以挂果不可太多,每户农户的平均收益只有约(人民币)1,000元;而2013年第二次挂果时,农户便丰收了,每户平均收入达到(人民币)6,000多元。

带来家庭团聚
柚子种植不但为曾伯伯这个特别困难的家庭带来转机,亦为村民的家庭生活带来改变。现在,有许多村民已开始不出外打工,他们选择留在家里管理果树,发展属于自己的果树业,在这片可敬可畏的土地上,跟自己的子女和父母一起,分享生命中每一个重要的时刻。


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

你让救世军重建四川
除了果树种植项目外,救世军运用捐款在什邡市、绵竹市、广汉市和罗江县进行重建工作,总共兴建村卫生站358所;地震令什邡市铁门坎卫生院的门诊大楼全部跨塌,救世军修建了该院的门诊住院大楼,加固维修原有病房,配备医疗设备和培训资金。

另外,救世军在灾区修建灌溉水渠和进行饮用水项目,解决当地因地震而发生的缺水困难。受助地区包括绵竹市广济镇中新村、遵道镇棚花村;罗江县鄢家镇大垭村、万安村。

救世军亦为德阳市旌阳区33所学校和茂县7所学校购置设备,以帮助学校恢复正常上课。

「红心柚」丰收, 灾民笑逐颜...
地震后, 曾伯伯曾经想过一死...
地震令曾伯伯的房子变成危房。
整条村子,每家每户一同见证...