Work in Mainland China
Manuo’s Worry - Hope Reignited by Bio-gas Project
back

In the mountainous areas of Longchuan County in Yunnan Province, peasant families are scattered around the valleys, living in simple bamboo cottages. They are busy making a living every day due to lack of resources. Manuo lost his mother when he was small. He has been living in the village with his father for all these years. Sugar cane farming is their source of income. As Manuo’s father is getting old, Manuo did not want to work in the city and leave his father alone in the village. With a poor family, the 30-year-old Manuo could not get married. He simply drowned his sorrows in drink in the face of adversity. However, after The Salvation Army funded the construction of bio-gas digesters, pigsties and toilets, Manuo began to see hope and work harder for a better living and a brighter future.

At his home composed of two simple bamboo cottages, sitting on a hill, Manuo was alone watching an old TV. The slightly dimmed room was furnished with a few pieces of necessary furniture. Outside the house laid a few empty beer bottles. It was such a miserable scene.

Too Poor to Get Married
Manuo and his father made a living on the four-acre sugar cane farm with an annual income of about RMB 3,000, they lived on a tight budget. Manuo sighed, saying, “I only have my old man in the family. He’s old and in poor health. (I) don’t want to go out for work. I just want to keep this family.” When asked about getting married, Manuo lowered his head and said in a forced smile, “I would love to, but we are poor. People (Girls) are not willing to come. (I’m) afraid it’ll go on like this.”

Later, The Salvation Army launched a “bio-gas digesters, pigsties and toilets ‘3-in-1’” project in Longchuan County, giving funds to villagers for the construction of these facilities with an aim to conserve energy and develop family economy. Manuo was invited to take part in this project. A biogas digester, pigsty and toilet were built in his home. When the construction was completed, The Salvation Army sent someone to teach Manuo how to use the bio-gas facility.

A year later, The Salvation Army visited Manuo again. We could see some encouraging changes. The newly built pigsty and toilet are now the prettiest constructions in his house. Five piglets are kept in the pigsty. The toilet is clean and tidy. Keeping pigs generate more income for Manuo’s family. The pig excrement produces bio-gas that can be used as a cooking fuel. The toilet has improved the hygiene at home and at the same time offers another source of bio-gas. It is cheap and environmentally friendly. There is no need for Manuo to buy wood fuel anymore.

Bio-gas Digester Brings Hope
At home, Manuo kept smiling and could not hide his joy. When we praised him for keeping his pigsty in good order, Manuo said bashfully, “My wife cleans it up.” After Manuo built a pigsty and toilet, his home looked more decent. He was introduced to a woman who later became his wife. After getting married, Manuo cut down on alcohol. His life has changed a lot and he is confident about the future. He plans to keep a few more piglets and continues to better his life.

Manuo’s wife is very happy about the bio-gas digester. She said, “Bio-gas is good. It’s readily available and convenient. If we put the rice in the bio-gas rice cooker before going to work in the field, the rice is ready by the time we go home. Also, we stop burning wood after having biogas. The wood we bought last year is still piling here. We saved lots of money on buying wood.”

At this point, Manuo’s father sitting aside couldn’t help but said delightedly, “In the past, whenever I looked at my son, I was saddened. But ever since we have the bio-gas digester, pigsty and toilet, our living conditions have improved. After my son got married, he no longer wears a sad face.”

Bio-gas Digesters, Pigsties and Toilets “3-in-1” Project
The construction of bio-gas digesters, pigsties and toilets altogether is known as a “3-in-1 project”. Swine waste provides fuel to bio-gas digesters. Toilets help improve sanitation and at the same time guarantees production of bio-gas. This project can provide home fuel to peasants, increase family income and protect the environment, but building a bio-gas digester and raising three to five pigs are not something easy for a peasant household. Hence, The Salvation Army provides funding to the peasants in poverty, helping them improve their lives.

Manuo and his father
A simple bamboo cottage.
Using bio-gas to cook rice ...
Using bio-gas to cook rice ...
Using bio-gas to cook rice ...
Using bio-gas to cook rice ...
Using bio-gas to cook rice ...
Manuo and his wife are conf...
The bio-gas digester has gr...

救世军在中国内地
麻诺的烦恼 - 沼气池项目重燃希望
上一页

在云南陇川县的山区,农户散落在山坳间,他们居住在简陋的竹篱笆房子,资源缺乏令他们每天为最基本的生活而奔波。麻诺从小失去母亲,多年来跟爸爸在村寨生活,耕种蔗田是收入来源。由于爸爸年老体弱,麻诺不忍离开他到城市工作,家境贫困亦令30岁的麻诺未能娶妻,面对困局,麻诺借酒消愁,麻醉自己。直至救世军援助他兴建「沼气池、猪棚和卫生厕所」后,麻诺开始看到转机,奋发地改善生活,向更美好的将来进发!

最初认识麻诺的时候,是在麻诺家里。他的家建在山坡上,由两间简陋的竹篱笆房组成。那时,他一人在家看电视,略显黑暗的房间内摆放着寥寥可数的生活用具,门外堆放着一些喝过的酒瓶,很是凄凉。

家贫未能娶妻
麻诺表示,父子两人的生活主要靠那四亩多的甘蔗田,一年的收入约3,000多元(人民币),生活很拮据。他慨叹:「家里只有老父亲了,父亲年纪大,病也多;(我)不愿出去打工了,就只想守着这个家。」当谈到娶妻的事情,他低头勉强的笑着说:「想,家里穷,别人(女孩)看了都不愿来,只怕会一直这样。」

后来,救世军在陇川县推行「沼气池、猪棚和卫生厕所『三合一』」项目,资助村民兴建有关设施,达到节约能源和发展家庭经济的目的。贫穷的麻诺亦被邀请参加这项目,为家里修建了沼气池、建盖了猪棚和卫生厕所。工程完成后,救世军又派人教导麻诺使用沼气的方法。

一年后,救世军再次探访麻诺,看到了令人欣喜的变化。新建的猪棚和厕所是他家最漂亮的建筑,猪棚里已养了五只小猪,厕所也管理得干净整洁。饲养猪只增加了麻诺的家庭收入,他又可以利用猪只的粪便制造沼气,作为煮食燃料;厕所既改善了他的家居卫生,又成为生产沼气的另一来源;令他不用购买木柴,既廉宜又环保。

沼气池带来希望
在麻诺家里,他一直在微笑,掩饰不住心中的喜悦。当夸奖他猪棚管理得井井有条时,他腼腆地说:「这是媳妇收拾的。」原来当麻诺的家建了猪棚和卫生厕所后,家也有了一点样子,经人介绍娶了妻子;成家后,麻诺酒喝少了,生活变化很大,他对未来充满信心,还打算再多养几只小猪,继续改善生活。

麻诺的妻子对沼气池非常满意,她说:「沼气好,沼气随时有,方便。下地干活前用沼气饭锅煮饭,回到家里就有热饭吃了。另外,用沼气后,就没有烧过柴,家里去年买的柴还放着,省下了买木柴的钱。」

这时候,坐在一旁的麻诺父亲,也忍不住高兴地说:「以前看着自己的儿子就犯愁,自从有了沼气池、猪棚和卫生厕所后,家里环境变好了。儿子又娶了媳妇,也不再愁眉不展。」

沼气池、猪棚和卫生厕所「三合一」项目
沼气池、猪棚和卫生厕所同时修建的模式,统称为「三合一」项目。猪只的粪便能为沼气池提供原料;而厕所既改善家居卫生,又确保沼气的产量。虽然这项目能够同时为农民提供家用燃料、增加家庭收入和保护环境;但是,修建一个沼气池,饲养三至五头猪对山区农户来说并不是一件容易的事,所以救世军资助贫困的农户,帮助他们改善生活。

麻诺和父亲
简陋的竹篱笆房。
用沼气煮饭,减少伐木,令农...
用沼气煮饭,减少伐木,令农...
用沼气煮饭,减少伐木,令农...
用沼气煮饭,减少伐木,令农...
用沼气煮饭,减少伐木,令农...
麻诺和妻子对未来充满信心,...
沼气池大大改善麻诺的生活。