Work in Mainland China
When A Bean Grows Up To Be A Tree - Sharing from a Beneficiary of China Children and Youth Education Programme

I was an ordinary kid from a poor family. I loved studying and obtained high academic results at school. My parents cared about me but they never worried about my studies. It was a shock when they left me so soon. I was only twelve when they passed away, leaving me, my younger brother and grandparents behind. All of a sudden, our life became really difficult. Without the scholarship from The Salvation Army, my life would have never been the same. I would not have obtained my qualifications and been able to realise my dream of becoming a doctor.

My name is Dou Yu-chao, nickname "Bean" (for the meaning of "Dou"). I was born in a village in Shandong Province. My family used to grow wheat and corn for a living. I have always excelled in my studies and come out on top. My parents did not praise me very often, but I could feel they were satisfied. By the time I was promoted to senior primary school, my parents left home to work in the city to earn more for the necessary expenses of my future studies.

Losing Both Parents at a Young Age
Time flew by. I studied hard as usual. My outstanding results were a token of gratitude for my parents' hard work. But when I was twelve, I was overwhelmed by an unexpected piece of bad news: papa and mama were both killed in a car accident! For a moment, my mind went blank. I felt sadness and doubt, and soon I became fearful. No matter how well I did at school, after all I was just a child. The loss of parents' protection scared me. Emotional disturbance and financial difficulties affected my learning and I fell behind in my studies.

After a long time of emotional upheavals, I gradually accepted the cruel reality. I pulled myself together and continued to reward my parents in heaven with excellent academic results. However, due to the loss of the breadwinners of the family, we struggled to make ends meet. We could only have basic food staples. All the money saved was spent on our studies.

Worried about Senior High School Fee
Just before going to senior high school, I realised the annual school fee was almost 1,000 yuans. I knew we would never make that much money and I probably could not continue my senior secondary education. At that miserable moment, I received a piece of great news: The Salvation Army offered scholarships to outstanding students in our school, and I was one of them. I was so thrilled as if I just found my saviour. The heavy burden brought by school fees and daily expenses were alleviated. I even had spare money for reference books and was able to concentrate on my studies.

After receiving help from The Salvation Army, I started pondering the meaning of life. I always thought one must overcome their misfortunes all by themselves. However, when I came to a dead end, this timely assistance touched me so much. When I was studying in senior high school, I aspired to be a doctor to help more people and save their lives. In this way, I might contribute to the society.

Aspired to be a Good Doctor
Thankfully, I was admitted to the Tianjin Medical University. The Salvation Army scholarship supported me until I completed my MD studies. During those seven years, staff from The Salvation Army wrote to me regularly, asking about my studies and life. Their care encouraged me to think positively and to learn passionately. The MD programme is really difficult. One has to spend many long hours studying large books and memorise lots of complicated medical terms. Precise judgment is also indispensable. Without their support, I am afraid I may not have overcome these difficulties.

Before long I succeeded. I am now a postgraduate in neurosurgery after completing the MD programme. I went on to become a neurosurgeon. Apart from helping patients relieve their physical pain, I would also like to take part in community service and help more people in need. My misfortune makes me realize the importance of helping the disadvantaged in our society. Life is meaningful when you are generous in giving help.


China Children and Youth Education Programme
The Salvation Army provides educational assistance for children and young people from poor families in Mainland China. We provide financial assistance to primary and junior secondary school students for buying stationery, supplementary reading books, clothing and footwear. We also offer assistance to schools for improving students' diet, nutrition and dormitory hygiene. Scholarships are also given to outstanding students like Dou in support of their senior secondary and tertiary education, opening the door to a brighter future for children from disadvantaged families.

The Salvation Army scholars...
Dou Yu-chao is encouraged t...
Dou Yu-chao is currently a ...

救世军在中国内地
豆子成树 - 中国儿童及青年教育计划受惠者分享
上一页

我是一名普通的农家穷孩子,很喜欢读书,学业成绩向来都很好。父母很 疼我,也从来不用为我的学习操心;但万万没想过他们那么早就离开我,留下当时只得12岁的我、弟弟和祖父母继续生活。我们生活顿时陷入困境,若果不是救世军的奖学金,只怕我的生活会完全不同,也很难取得今天的医学学位,达成我当医生的心愿。

我 叫豆玉超,又被称为「豆子」,生于山东省的农村,一家本来靠种植小麦和玉米维生。从小我的学业成绩就很突出,经常名列前茅,虽然父母不是将称赞常挂嘴边, 但我亦感受到他们满心的安慰。为了我将来学习所需的金钱,我升读高小时,父母为了赚多一点钱,便转到城市打工,让我继续留在农村上学。

幼年痛失双亲
时间不知不觉地过去,我一如既往地专心读书,以优异成绩回馈爸妈的劳苦。可是,12岁那年,一个突如其来的噩耗打跨了我:「爸爸和妈妈在车祸中双亡!」剎那间,我脑海空白一片,由疑惑、伤心,再转为恐惧。纵使我成绩更好,亦只不过是一个孩子,失去父母的荫庇实在令我害怕,心理上的不安,再加上生活艰难,我的学习受到一定程度的影响,成绩亦有所下降。

情绪波动了好一段时间,我才渐渐接受失去双亲的残酷现实,理性地催促自己赶快收拾心情,继续以优异的成绩来回馈天上的爸妈。可是,家庭失去了经济支柱,祖父母和我们兄弟被迫过着捉襟见肘的生活,除了主食和蔬菜外,肉类等副食品都很少吃,省下来的钱全部用于学习上。

为高中学费发愁
直至读完初中,要升读高中时,学费每年差不多一千元,我知道就算怎样省吃省喝,我们也负担不了,我恐怕不能升读高中!正当我发愁时,突然收到天大的喜讯:救 世军向我校的优异生派发奖学金,而我就是其中一人!当下,我的心情激动得像遇到「救世主」,学费的重担一下子消失了,生活费也不用操心,还有余钱买参考 书,可以专注努力学习。

得到救世军的帮助后,我开始思考人生的意义。一直以来,我认为生命中的不幸必须靠自己的努力撑过去,但在我将近走投无路时,却有人伸出援手,这雪中送炭的窝心感觉触动了我。就是高中时,我立志要当一名医生,因为可以帮助很多人,挽救他们的生命,也算是对社会的回馈,及付出我自己的一分力量。

矢志成为仁医
我很幸运,成功考进了天津医科大学,救世军的奖学金更继续支持我完成学位课程。七年来,救世军的叔叔、姨姨经常和我书信联系,了解我的生活学习情况,关心 我、鼓励我,让我乐观地生活、积极地学习。医科课程实在不容易,熟读厚厚的课本,牢记一大堆艰深的医学名词,还要磨练出丝毫不差的判断力,若然没有他们的 支持,我恐怕真的很难撑下去。

转眼间,我已经完成了医科学位课程,现正为神经外科研究生;我希望将来做一名神经外科医生。除了帮助病患者,解决他们身体的痛苦外,我也希望可以参与公益工作,来帮助社会上有需要的人。我的不幸让我深深体会到扶助弱势社群的重要,乐于助人,生活才有意义。


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


中国儿童及青年教育计划
救世军为内地家贫的儿童和青年提供教育援助,资助小学和初中生购买文具、课外读物及衣服鞋袜,协助学校改善学生膳食营养和宿舍卫生。另外,又向如豆玉超般的优异生颁发奖学金,支持他们升读高中和大学,帮助家贫孩子开创美好的前桯。

 

救世军的奖学金让豆玉超完成...
救世军人员支持豆玉超成为一...
豆玉超现正为神经外科研究生。