Publications
Cover Story
back

Volunteer Hairstylist Weaves a Dream

Dreams change our lives. Years ago, after 22-year-old Chan Ka-ho had dropped out of school, he became a loser by social standards. With the help of The Salvation Army, Ka-ho joined the profession of hair styling and officially became a hairstylist half a year ago. He has identified his dreams and found a clear career path. Kaho also actively participates in giving free haircuts to the deprived groups. He wants to bring about changes to the community as people regain their smiles and self-confidence from a new hairstyle.


Having been labelled as a bad student, Ka-ho once gave up on himself and dropped out of school in Secondary 3. He happened to get in touch with The Salvation Army. Encouraged by the Army social worker, Ka-ho worked as an apprentice in a hair salon. Feeling anxious and lost as a dropout, the job was a good place for him to settle down and to earn a living.

Shaking off the Social Label
‘Only those who fail at school work as hair washers’. Kaho was fear of this label. When he went to work at the beginning, he was always cautious and even dared not speak too loudly, for fear of making any mistakes and being scolded. The job of washing hair is no easy task. Looking back, Ka-ho could not help but count the hardships back then, ‘The work was really, really tough... Every day I bent down to wash hair for the customers. Frequent washing had made my hands dry and cracked.’

At that time, Ka-ho worked in a small-scale hair salon that was always short of manpower. He had to learn various skills within a short period of time in order to help lessen his master’s workload. ‘I never expected to have to learn dying hair after washing hair for a week. Normally it takes apprentices half a year or so before they have such a chance. At that time I was so busy; every day I worked over 10 hours. It was beyond the imagination of someone outside of the industry.’ Ka-ho did not expect he would persevere and endure all the hardships. He has been working in the industry for 7 years.

Today, Ka-ho is confident in handling the hairstyle of his customers. He attributed this to his master and his social worker: the former being a teacher and a friend who encourages rather than scolding him, and has given him many opportunities to grow up; the latter being his life coach who walks with him searching for the right direction whenever he is confused and at a loss. Being able to persevere and remain in the hairstyling industry until now, customers’ praises and recognition is his motivation. This great sense of accomplishment makes him determined to put in more efforts for realising his dream, ‘I want to enhance my skills, at the same time save up in order to travel abroad to broaden my horizon. When I come back I’ll open my own hair salon in Hong Kong.’

Equip himself through Serving the Community
Last year, Ka-ho was invited by a social worker to join the ‘Dream Puzzle’ project of The Salvation Army. He was sponsored to buy a complete set of brand-new haircutting kit. Together with the Army’s social worker, he made plans on how to realise his dream. A few months ago, he proposed offering free haircuts to the elderly. In this way he can use his talent to contribute to the society, at the same time enhance his skills. He found that giving haircuts to the elderly was not easy; it was even more challenging than giving adults and children a haircut. ‘Elders’ necks are usually shorter and their hair usually thinning, brittle and soft. Marks are often left on their hair after sleep. It takes more patience and time to handle all these.’

Ka-ho and the Army social worker jointly organised two free haircut activities for the elderly. Ka-ho was overwhelmed with joy when he saw the refreshing looks and smiling faces of the elders. ‘I want to continue the free haircut  activity. Apart from elders, I also want to give free cuts to the grassroots students. When these students reach a certain age, they’ll be concerned with their looks and compare with their peers. Grassroots parents may have a tight budget, so they won’t ask for too much about their children’s hairstyles. In fact, even children want to look prettier and smarter. After all, it’s a matter of self - confidence.’ The free haircut activities also give a boost of Ka-ho’s confidence and bring him a step closer to realising his dream!


Companion Dream Builder

As a companion in Ka-ho’s life and pursuit of dreams, Mr Cheung Kin-hei, social worker of The Salvation Army Tai Po Integrated Service for Young People believes that support, acceptance and recognition are of vital importance to young people. They have their own potentials and strengths. With support from the project, the youth are encouraged to set different life goals and have the courage to persevere. This also helps them build confidence and a positive attitude, which will in turn influence the community.


‘Dream Puzzle 2017-18’ Project

Implemented by The Salvation Army Family, Youth and Community Services, the ‘Dream Puzzle 2017-18’ project aims to support youth at risk aged 14 to 24, helping them to explore their interests and potentials. The youth are provided with funds and encouraged to realise their dreams. They may help the people in need by using their own strengths to serve the community. Last year, the project funded a total of 11 teams of young people. Together with the Army social workers, they made plans for realising their dreams of becoming street dancers, Thai boxers or starting their own band.

 

Ka-ho gives free haircuts t...
Before doing the haircut, K...
The Salvation Army sponsors...
Master Jackson (right) also...
The number of elders partic...
‘Dream Puzzle 2017-18’ Project

出版刊物
封面故事
上一页

义剪发型师  剪出梦想蓝图

  梦想会令人生变得不一样。就如22 岁的陈嘉灏多年前因为失学,成为社会标准里的失败者,在救世军协助下,他投身发型界,半年前正式当起发型师,找到明确的梦想和事业方向。他又积极为弱势社羣「义剪」头发,期望透过发型令人重拾笑容和自信,为社区带来改变。


  曾经被标签为坏学生,嘉灏一度自我放弃,结果在中三就辍学,机缘巧合下接触到救世军,幷在社工鼓励下当上了发型师学徒;面对失学后的迷失彷徨,这份工作正好让他安顿下来,同时靠自己赚取生活费。

摆脱标签束缚
  「读书不成才做『洗头仔』」,嘉灏害怕这样的社会标签,上班初期经常战战兢兢,生怕做错事会被骂,连大声说话也不敢。而洗头工作绝不轻松,他回想起来,不禁细数辛酸史:「很辛苦,真的很辛苦……每日要弯着腰帮客人洗头,双手长期沾水,变得干燥爆裂。」

  当时任职的发型屋规模细小,经常欠缺人手,他需要在短时间内学懂各种技巧,以「帮轻」师傅,「没想过洗头洗了一星期便要学染发,学徒普遍都要等一年半载才有机会;那时候几乎每天都分身不暇,连续工作十多小时,辛苦程度非外行人所能想象。」从没想过自己可以「咁捱得」,坚持下来,入行至今转眼七年。

  今天的嘉灏有着一份自信,能够令客人安心把发丝交给他。他笑言多得身边有师傅和社工,前者与他亦师亦友,以鼓励代替责备,在工作路上给予不同机会让他成长;后者是人生导师,在他迷失困惑的时间里,与他一起同行寻觅方向。而能够在发型行业坚持至今,客人的赞赏和肯定是他的动力,这份莫大的满足感,使他决心要为梦想再下苦功,「希望把技术练得更好,同时努力储钱往外国扩阔眼界,然后回港开设自己的发型屋。」

服务小区 装备自己
  去年,嘉灏应社工邀请参加救世军「Dream Puzzle」计划,获资助买了一套全新齐备的剪发工具,幷与社工一同构思如何实践梦想;数月前,他提出帮长者义剪,希望运用自身所长回馈社会,也从中巩固自己的技术。原来,帮长者剪发幷非易事,难度比成人和小孩都高,「长者颈短,发量少且发质脆弱细软,经常睡出『枕头痕』,需要更多耐性和时间处理。」

  嘉灏与社工共同举办过两次长者义剪活动,看见老友记剪发后精神爽利,面露笑容,令他有种无法言喻的快乐,「希望义剪活动可以延续下去,除了长者,我也想帮基层学童剪发,他们到了某个年纪会喜欢打扮,又爱与同龄朋友比较,基层家长受经济所限,对子女的发型要求都比较随便,但其实小朋友都会想『靓啲』、『型啲』,说到底就是一份在人前的自信。」义剪过后,嘉灏的自信又增添了,距离梦想又近一步!


实践梦想的同行者

  作为嘉灏在人生和梦想路上的同行者,救世军大埔青少年综合服务社工张建熙认为,支持、接纳和肯定对于青少年十分重要,他们有自己的潜能和专长,透过计划支持,鼓励他们为人生设定不同目标,重拾追梦的勇气和坚持,也从中建立自信及正面态度,让年青人的活力感染社区。


Dream Puzzle 2017-18」梦想计划

  「Dream Puzzle 2017-18」梦想计划由救世军家庭、青年及社区服务推行,为14 至24 岁的潜危青少年提供支持,助他们发掘兴趣及潜能,并提供资助鼓励他们实现梦想,以及运用自身强项服务小区,帮助有需要的人士。去年共有11 组青少年接受资助,与社工共同构思实践意念,实现成为街舞舞者、泰拳拳手,又或组织乐队等梦想。

 

嘉灏为层长者义剪头发,用行...
嘉灏在剪发前会与长者沟通,...
救世军资助嘉灏购买一套全新...
师傅阿臣(右)也享受义剪工...
参与义剪的长者人数超出预期...
「Dream Puzzle 2017-18」梦...