Publications
Feature: Motivation for Change
Street Sleeper Boosts Self-assurance through Volunteering
back
Ah-Man has been part of “A.C.T.I.O.N.” Work Enhancement Volunteerism for over a year. He has helped grassroots families with home relocation for over 10 times already. “I’m so happy. Finally I’m determined to do something. I wouldn’t have put my heart into anything even if I were paid,” he said.
 
Ah-Man’s heartfelt efforts paid off and he regained his long lost self-confidence. He has got used to the label of a “beneficiary” after 10 years of sleeping on the street. He almost forgot that he also deserved an opportunity of assurance and recognition.
 
Years ago when he encountered financial difficulties and could not afford his rent, Ah-Man had dwelled in places such as parks, ferry piers and sports ground. “Once, when typhoon signal no.8 was raised, the ferry pier was so windy. I couldn’t sleep and there was nowhere to hide.” In the end, he could only shiver in the cold behind a pillar. As for food, he relied on the kind offer of the people or help from friends, or simply “rummaged food from garbage bags, washed and reheated it in a convenience store”. Buying food was a last resort.
 
Life might be tough, but Ah-Man insisted on tidiness. He always carried a bottle of shower gel and shampoo in his backpack. “I must shower at least once a day. It’s so dusty out there.” This is his dignity and bottom line. “People may wonder why I don’t rent a sub-divided unit with government subsidy. But they don’t know there are woodlice in many of those units.” He thought it was much cleaner to sleep on the street.
 
No Way Out
 
Having a shelter became a distant dream. Ah-Man only took on odd jobs like stage setting, but the earnings might still exceed the salary limit of public rental housing application for single persons. As it was hard to find a permanent job without a residential address proof, he could barely make ends meet. “I don’t have work every day throughout the month. Sometimes I worked a few days and was forced to rest for over a week before another work came. Everything like food and drink costs money. How much could I save? All things are so expensive nowadays. A few hundred dollars won’t last for many days.”
 
Ah-Man was eager but found it so hard to put an end to his days living from hand to mouth. “I don’t want to be helped. I don’t want to rely on others for everything. That’s why I tried to see if I could do it myself...but at last, I failed.“ Approaching 40, even though many people had been kind enough to offer help, Ah-Man started to think, “Am I going to spend the rest of my life just like this?” After some pondering, he finally sought help from The Salvation Army.
 
Since the end of 2015, Ah-Man has joined The Salvation Army “A.C.T.I.O.N.” Work Enhancement Volunteerism. Together with people of similar background, he helped grassroots families with home relocation and small-scale renovation works, including floor boarding and painting, for which the beneficiary families only need to pay a low renovation cost, while the workers may receive an allowance that helps them eke out a living.
 
Self-worth Rediscovered
 
During the course of volunteering, not only did Ah-Man make friends with a group of buddies, but he also learnt how to communicate and work with other people. “I used to go my own way without listening to others,” he reflected. “But working together means cooperation. We’ll never get the work done if everyone does things their own ways.” He was willing to consider the big picture, step back and avoid conflicts with others. Such cooperation did not just benefit the beneficiary families. Ah-Man came to realise that he was able to help other people. For a person who has been labeled “the disadvantaged” for a long time, this value of existence and sense of achievement are hard-won.
 
Now he is able to make a change for other people’s living environment. How about his own life?
 
In 2016, Ah-Man was determined to change his future. He first moved into The Salvation Army Yee On Hostel and started working as a temporary general assistant at The Salvation Army Integrated Service for Street Sleepers. He tried his best to cut expenses and make a saving of HK$4,000-6,000 per month with the Army’s support. “When I have to pay for rent or work elsewhere later, I also need to pay for transportation and meals. It’s better to save up more now.”
 
Ah-Man said that he has become more optimistic and proactive. He feels strange towards the places he used to sleep at, and he is never going back. Right now he has a clear goal, “The most important thing is to rent an individual room with no woodlice. That’ll be good enough.”
 

“A.C.T.I.O.N.” Work Enhancement Volunteerism
 
Street sleepers and ex-street sleepers form a team of volunteers and provide domestic cleansing, home relocation or small-scale renovation services to grassroots families after receiving relevant training. They will receive an allowance that helps them eke out a living. During the course of cooperation, the volunteers learn to communicate and support one another. Also, the sense of achievement gained through helping others boosts their self-confidence, enabling them to search for self-worth and the meaning of life.
Street sleepers boost self-...
Ah-Man used to sleep in the...
The “A.C.T.I.O.N.” voluntee...
Beneficiary families give t...
Ah-Man has worked as a temp...
“A.C.T.I.O.N.” Work Enhance...

出版刊物
专题:改变的动力
露宿者做义工肯定自我
上一页
阿文成为救世军「动汉子义工」超过一年了,帮助基层家庭搬屋不下十次。他说:「好开心,终于『扚起心肝』肯去做一件事,有钱我都未必真的去做。」
 
用心,卖力,换来一份久违的自信。十年露宿,习惯了被贴上「受助者」的标籤,他几乎忘记,自己也有获肯定和赏识的机会。
 
多年前,阿文因经济困难,无力租屋,先后到过公园、码头、球场等地露宿,「试过八号风球在码头,睡也睡不到,又无处可躲」,最后只能瑟缩柱后避风。一日三餐,要麽靠善心人施捨,要麽求熟人接济,甚至「把垃圾袋里的食物翻出来,洗乾淨,拿去7-11『叮』来吃」,不得已才选择买。
 
即使生存艰难,阿文却坚持要整洁,背包里总有沐浴露和洗头水。「至少一日冲一次凉啦,周街都是尘!」这是他的尊严,他的底线。「有些人觉得你为甚麽不租房?反正政府可以资助。他们不会想到,板间房大部份都有木蝨。」他觉得,睡在街头还乾淨得多。
 
转变无门
 
有瓦遮头,变成一个遥远的梦。阿文靠做散工,如搭佈景的工作等,也容易超过单身人士轮候公屋的入息上限;而没有住址证明,就难觅长工,生活捉襟见肘。「不会整个月有工开,可能返两三日,休息十日八日后,才再有一日半日工作。拉上补下,储不了钱。吃的喝的都要钱,哪有剩?尤其样样都贵,挣几百元都不知够用多久。」
 
朝不保晚的日子,阿文想结束,却感到力不从心。「不想别人帮忙,不想样样靠人,就看自己能力是否做到...... 最终还是不行。」年近40了,即使街头不乏善心人照应,他亦不禁想:「真的这样过下半世?」经过一番思量,最后找上救世军帮忙。
 
2015年底开始,他参加了救世军「动‧ 汉子」社区义务工作,与其他同路人一起为基层家庭搬屋和做小型装修工程,包括铺地板、髹油漆等。受助家庭只需缴交廉宜的人工费,而「汉子们」亦能获得津贴帮补生活。
 
发现自我价值
 
过程中,阿文不但认识了一班志同道合的兄弟,更学会如何与人沟通合作。「我常用自己的一套,不听任何人意见。」他反思:「一起共事一定要夹,你有你做,我有我做,就做极都做不完。」一句「大局为重」,他愿意退一步,少跟他人争执。合作的成果,不只令受助家庭得益,更叫阿文顿时发现原来自己也有能力帮助别人。这份存在的价值和成功感,对长期被标籤为「弱势」的他而言,真的来之不易。
 
既然能帮助别人改善生活环境,他也能改变自己的人生吗?
 
2016年开始,阿文立下决心改变未来,先入住救世军怡安宿舍,并短暂入职救世军露宿者综合服务中心做杂务。他努力节省开支,并透过救世军的协助,每月储蓄港币4,000至6,000元。「迟些租屋、出去其他地方工作,车费、吃饭都要钱,所以先储多点。」
 
阿文自言性格比从前更乐观、积极,对昔日露宿的地方已感到陌生,头也不回了。他现时目标清晰:「最重要租到一间独立的房,无木蝨的,那就足够了。」
 

「动‧ 汉子」社区义务工作
 
露宿者和前露宿者组成义工队,经训练后,为基层家庭提供小型装修、搬屋、家居清洁等服务,并获得津贴帮补生活。在合作的过程中,义工学习互相沟通和支持;而帮助别人的成功感能提升他们的自信,有助他们寻找自我价值和人生意义。
露宿者做义工肯定自我
阿文曾露宿于香港文化中心的...
「动‧ 汉子」义工队不定期帮...
受助家庭向义工队致谢,表示...
阿文短暂入职救世军做杂务,...
「动‧汉子」社区义务工作