Publications
Special: Housework Made Easy
Training Independent and Helpful Little Housekeepers
back
Many parents yearn for kids’ academic achievements, so they take up every single household chore, big and small. That is why their children become dependent, leaving the parents exhausted. Chi-hang, a Primary 6 student, is one of the examples. Having questions about homework? Ask Mom. Family conflicts? Ask Mom. Daily routines? Ask Mom. His mother wondered when Chi-hang would become self-reliant, or even share some of the chores.
 
One day, returning from The Salvation Army after a training programme, Chi-hang suddenly suggested, “Let me wash the dishes tonight.” His mother was surprised yet delighted, as her son finally became thoughtful.
 
“To become a chef, start from washing the dishes.” This was the first lesson Chi-hang learnt at the “Little Master” Developmental Group at The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre (Macau). Later that night, a bowl was knocked off and broken by Chi-hang. His mother heard it and rushed to the kitchen. Just when she was about to blow up, she managed to hold back her anger. “It’s better to let him fail, or he’ll never learn.”
 
Both Chi-hang’s parents go to work. They do not have much time to spend with their children. In the past, when the mother was at work, she would receive phone calls from her son, either asking her to help resolve his conflict with his father, or complaining that his elder sister did not assist him with his homework. After work, the mother acted as her son’s private tutor, at the same time hurriedly got all the household chores done, while Chi-hang only cared about his schoolwork and had no intention of contributing to the family.
 
Taking the Initiative to Share Housework
 
The turning point began when Chi-hang took part in The Salvation Army’s “Little Master” programme, where he and the other children work together to prepare meals regularly. Under the social workers’ guidance, they complete the tasks from buying ingredients, cooking to cleaning up the kitchen in good order. During the course, they realised that the fun of cooking and tidying are inseparable.
 
In the course of time, Chi-hang will take the initiative to wash the dishes or sweep the floor at home occasionally, as he understands his mother’s hardship even more. “When I washed the dishes for the first time, I already felt so exhausted. You have to bend your back for such a long time.” Once he understands, he is more willing to try. He even asks his mother to teach him how to do the laundry. “I never expected such a great change of my son!” To his mother’s greatest delight, Chi-hang even influenced his elder sister to help together, largely lessening their parents’ burden.
 
Your effort is a token of love to someone you care. When the children prepare meals by themselves and bring them back home from the centre, their parents’ appreciation and encouragement will motivate them to take up more responsibilities at home, where they can practise what they learn and become a real “little master”. 
 

Bringing Joy to the Less Fortunate Elderly
 
The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre (Macau) organises regular birthday parties for singleton and physically challenged elderly, for which participants of the “Little Master” Developmental Group will prepare everything on their own. Firstly, the children will pay home visits to the birthday elderly to get an idea of their eating habits before designing the menu. At the party, they will sing birthday songs to the elderly and serve the dishes they have prepared as a token of love and care.
 

“Little Master” Developmental Group
 
Through a series of cooking activities, the Programme aims to promote children’s self-care ability and sense of responsibility. Participants aged between 7 and 12 work together to buy ingredients, cook and share the food. In addition to basic cooking skills, they will also learn to share household chores and show the community their care through sharing of food.
Understanding his mother’s ...
Chi-hang learns to work tog...
Participants of different a...
Participants of different a...
The Salvation Army Joy Fami...

出版刊物
特稿:家务煮饭无难度
培训小当家自立助人
上一页
家长希望孩子学有所成,习惯将家里大小事扛上身,令孩子变得依赖,自己却疲惫不堪。小六的志恆就是一例:功课疑难,找妈妈;家庭冲突,找妈妈;起居生活,找妈妈。妈妈想,他何时才能变得独立?甚至可以分担家务?
 
有天,志恆完成救世军的成长训练活动回家,忽然提出:「今晚由我洗碗吧。」妈妈惊讶又欣慰,儿子终于懂事了。
 
「学下厨,先要学会洗碗。」这是志恆在救世军喜乐家庭综合服务中心(澳门)的「小当家」计划中上的第一课。然后,碗就摔破了。妈妈闻声奔进厨房,快将发飙的一刻,她忍住了。「让他跌过都好,否则以后都学不会。」
 
志恆的父母都要工作,亲子时间不多。从前,妈妈工作时经常收到儿子来电,请她协调父子冲突,或投诉姐姐不愿指导功课。放工后,她更担任儿子的「功课导师」,另兼顾家务,忙个不停。但志恆只管读书,欠缺为家庭付出的意识。
 
主动分担家务
 
转变的契机,始于志恆参加救世军的「小当家」计划。他定期与其他孩子合作烹饪,在社工的引导下,由买材料、煮食,至清理厨房,都有条不紊地完成,从中体会到玩乐和执拾是不可分割的。
 
久而久之,志恆閒时在家也会主动洗碗、扫地,更深切体会到妈妈的辛劳。「第一次洗碗就觉得......原来真的挺累,要长时间弓着背。」因为谅解,所以付出,甚至进而请妈妈教他洗衣服。「没想到儿子有这麽大的改变!」妈妈最欣慰的是,他感染了姐姐也一同帮忙,大大减轻了家长的照顾压力。
 
一分力,一份情,叫关爱的人看见心意和付出。当孩子将亲手做的菜从救世军中心带回家,获得赞赏和鼓励,便驱使他们甘愿为家庭承担更多,在家实践所学的技能,成为真正的「小当家」。
 

将欢乐带给弱势长者
 
救世军喜乐家庭综合服务中心(澳门)定期为独居和残疾长者举办生日派对,由「小当家」计划的参加者亲自准备。孩子会家访生日主角,先了解长者的饮食习惯,再设计餐单。生日会上,他们为「老友记」唱生日歌,并递上爱心餸菜,将关怀一併送上了。
 

「小当家学堂」成长训练计划
 
计划透过烹饪活动,提升孩子的自理能力和责任感。7至12岁的参加者须合作买食材、烹调,并分享食物。除了学习基本的烹饪技巧,他们亦学习分担家务,并透过分享食物关怀社区人士。
体谅到妈妈(右)的辛劳,志恆(...
志恆在烹饪活动中学会与人分...
不同年龄的参加者合力烹调食...
不同年龄的参加者合力烹调食...
救世军喜乐家庭综合服务中心(...