Publications
Special: Farewell to the Street Life
Help the Homeless Secure a Job
back
No one can believe that Kwat, who wears a decent outfit, was a street sleeper a year ago. “My life was at a low ebb on the street. I couldn’t imagine that I would have stood up again,” he said. Kwat had been owed wages by his employer and became homeless under financial pressure. In despair, he received assistance and training from The Salvation Army. Now as a chef, he tries his best to make life delicious again.
 
Among the five flavours of life, Kwat is very familiar with the sour, bitter and spicy tastes. Years ago, when he worked in the automotive waste industry, a sudden change of economic environment brought him into financial difficulty. He was forced to stay in a cargo container for six months. Later working in the decoration industry, he was unfortunately owed wages by the employer. Once again, he could not afford the rent and became homeless.
 
Financial Hardship
 
Suffering from the blow of career failure, Kwat hid himself in a little public park and slept on a stone table on cold nights. In the daytime, he found odd jobs to sustain life. He said, “I’ve seen people looking for food in rubbish bins.” But he did not want to live like that. “How to fill my stomach was a big question every day.” After a week, he finally decided to seek help from The Salvation Army Integrated Service for Street Sleepers. The Army arranged for Kwat to stay at The Salvation Army Yee On Hostel and later introduced him to the Green plus Work Safety Chef Training Scheme. However, he considered the catering industry as “a harsh environment, low payment and long working hours”. Instant noodles were the only thing he had cooked and using a knife was totally out of the question, so he doubted if he could get into the industry. But looking from the other side, he thought, he had nothing to lose, why not give it a shot?
 
New Job, New Future
 
After joining the scheme, Kwat received a series of training, including the usage of knife and electrical cooking appliances, and cooking techniques. “I became interested when I discovered that I could do it,” he said. More importantly, the management system and regulations of a kitchen left a positive impression on him. With a good performance interview, he was successfully hired by Trusty Congee King of Tai Hing Catering Group. 
 
The smooth change of career increased Kwat’s self-confidence and courage to accept challenges. Since the restaurant is located near the hostel, the travelling fee was saved. Kwat managed to put aside a certain percentage of his salary with support from the Army’s saving system. Half a year later, he could afford a room on his own. One year later, he even attained first grade in the qualification certificate!
 
Life has become stable. Yet Kwat cannot forget The Salvation Army Yee On Hostel, so he often returns to visit the staff. Sometimes, he volunteers to distribute clothing to the homeless with the Army. He said some of them would not accept the Army’s support because of pride. Kwat sincerely hopes that the needy can overcome the psychological barrier so that they can all turn a new leaf like he did. 
 

Give the Homeless a Chance

 
“Please do not belittle the homeless people,” said Ms Ko Hiu-yee, a social worker of The Salvation Army Integrated Service for Street Sleepers. “They are capable of and willing to contribute to the society, but society has to give them a chance.” Corporates may join hands with the Army to create jobs for them, while people in the community may volunteer to visit them to provide psychological support.
 
Corporates / Individuals Enquiry: 2710 8911/ isss@ssd.salvation.org.hk
 

Chef Training Scheme

 
The Green plus Work Safety Chef Training Scheme is organised by The Salvation Army and Hong Kong Federation of Restaurants and Related Trades Charitable Foundation Limited, and fully supported by HK Electric. Participants learn the usage of knife and cooking techniques, etc. After interviews, they may achieve apprenticeship in the participating companies. On-the-job training from senior staff and support from the Army’s social workers are also arranged. The scheme helps participants develop their career while catering companies can train more professionals, creating a win-win situation.
After leaving the street, K...
The stone table was once a ...
Kwat used to get shelter at...
Chef training scheme

出版刊物
特稿:告别露宿辛酸
支持无家者安稳工作自立
上一页
任谁也猜不到,眼前衣着整洁的「阿骨」,一年前竟然流浪街头。「瞓街时已经跌落谷底,没想到自己可以爬返起身。」他曾遭僱主拖欠薪金,因财困而被迫露宿。绝望下,他得到救世军支援,并获培训转职当厨师,努力为人生煮出甘香佳餚。
 
人生五味,阿骨早已尝尽酸、苦、辣。多年前,他从事汽车零件废料业务,因社会环境突变,陷入财困,无奈寄居货柜半年;后来转行装修业,却因判头公司欠薪追索无门,最终无力租屋,流落街头。
 
财困露宿
 
事业失败令阿骨大受打击。晚上,他隐身于小公园,伏在石桌上熬过寒夜;白天便四出找散工,但求解决三餐。「我见过有人去垃圾桶找食物。」但他不想沦落至此:「吃,是每天要面对的,是重複又重複要解决的问题。」思前想后一星期,他决定找救世军露宿者综合服务求助。
 
救世军先安排阿骨入住救世军怡安宿舍,再向他介绍「环保 • 职安健厨师培育计划」,提供厨师入职培训。可是,他对饮食业的印象是「又辛苦,又挣得少钱,工时又长」;而且他「只会煮公仔麵,连刀也不会拿」,入行谈何容易?但一转念,想到自己已山穷水尽,何不放手一试?
 
转工新出路
 
阿骨毅然参加了计划,接受一系列职前培训,包括学习刀工、烹调技巧、厨房设备应用等。他说:「试着试着,就试出兴趣,发现原来我都做得到。」更重要的是,认识厨房的管理系统和规矩后,他对饮食业再没有「乌烟瘴气」的厌恶感,还因面试表现良好,顺利入职太兴饮食集团旗下的「靠得住」。
 
成功转行,使阿骨自信心大增,勇于接受挑战。因上班地点邻近宿舍,他节省了交通费,并将一定比例的月薪交给救世军的託管基金代为储蓄。半年后,他能自行租住套房,重建新生活;一年后,更获公司晋升为一级厨师,成为师傅了!
 
生活稳定了,阿骨却仍惦记着救世军怡安宿舍,不时探望友好的职员;间中还会做义工,与救世军向露宿街坊派衣物。他直言,有些街坊纵然知道救世军提供支援,也不愿接受,只因放不下面子。身为过来人,阿骨衷心希望有需要的人能早日克服心理障碍,像他一样重建新生。
 

给无家者重生的机会

 
「请不要一开始就轻看他们。」救世军露宿者综合服务中心社工高晓谊指出:「露宿的街坊也有能力和心志去服务社会,而社会也要给予机会。」企业可与救世军合作,让无家者得到工作,重新做人;而地区人士则可成为义工,持续探访露宿街坊,给予心灵上的支持。
 
公司合作/ 义工报名: 2710 8911/ isss@ssd.salvation.org.hk
 

厨师培育计划

 
「环保 • 职安健厨师培育计划」由救世军、香港餐饮联业慈善基金有限公司合办,香港电灯有限公司全力支持。参加者先学习刀法应用、烹调技巧等,经面试后到参与计划的公司实习,再由资深同事提供在职培训,以及由救世军社工从中协调。计划既帮助参加者建立事业,亦帮助餐饮企业培训厨务专才,创造双赢局面。
告别露宿生活后,阿骨经培训...
这石桌曾经是阿骨的枕头,他...
救世军怡安宿舍是阿骨渡过艰...
厨师培育计划