Media Centre
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre x City University of Macau
Social Work Students Practise through Volunteering
back
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre has held a volunteering programme ceremony. More than 20 year-one students from the Social Work Programme of the City University of Macau have been recruited as the first group of volunteers to teach children at the centre. With the practical teaching experience, the students are able to learn faster and raise their care for the community.
 
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre cooperates with the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of the City University of Macau to provide extracurricular training to the year-one students of the newly developed Social Work Programme. The Army provides the students with professional knowledge of special educational needs (SEN), teaching experience sharing, as well as volunteering opportunities, so that students may practice what they learn.
 
Dr Carl Cheng Kai-yuen, The Salvation Army Educational Services Director, said that practice is the most direct and effective way of learning. He said, “The Salvation Army has been providing educational services for many years and can provide suitable support in terms of resources and expertise sharing. Our centre enables the year-one students of the Social Work Programme to participate in the professional teaching, which helps increase their practical experience and enhance their ability to enter the industry after graduation.”
 
Dr Jacky Ho Chong-kin, Programme Coordinator of the Social Work Programme, City University of Macau, appreciates the benefits of the volunteering programme to the students. He said, “The society of Macau has a higher awareness to the growth and development of children in various aspects. The educational needs therefore increase accordingly. Such a volunteering programme not only helps the children of the centre, but also enhances the knowledge of the Social Work students about community needs, which is important for them to join the industry in future.”
 
Since 1 May, The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre has officially started its services. With the strength-based approach and a small-class teaching model to encourage and praise children more, the Army is providing professional after-school support to students with diverse and special educational needs, helping them to develop their potential and achieve their excellence. After training, voluntary students will become the centre’s tutors in summer holiday and can take part in the exchange programme with other Salvation Army units during Christmas.
 
About The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre provides professional after-school support services for students with special educational needs (SEN). Our specialists such as SEN experts, clinical psychologists, speech therapists, occupational therapists, social workers, etc. help to support students and families in need.
The volunteers promote the ...
The volunteers actively int...
The voluntary students from...

新闻中心
救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心与澳门城市大学合作
透过义工活动增加社工系学生理论学习及实践机会
上一页
救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心举行义工启动仪式,招募了20多名澳门城市大学社工系一年级本科生成为第一批义工,协助中心教育儿童,并透过这些教学体验,加快自身的学习进程及提升对社区的关怀。
 
救世军与澳门城市大学人文社会科学学院合作,为新成立的社工课程提供额外的一年级本科生学习培训,包括教授有关特殊学习需要的专业知识、分享救世军多年来在有关教育服务的经验,以及提供义工机会,让学生实践所学的理论。
 
救世军港澳军区教育服务总监郑启员博士认为,实践是学习的最直接及有效途径。他表示:「救世军推行儿童教育工作多年,在资源和经验方面,都能够提供适时支援。该中心让社工系的本科生自一年级开始,就能参与实际的教学工作,增加了他们工作实践的机会。经验愈多,将来毕业后,投入有关工作的能力就愈高。」
 
澳门城市大学人文社会科学学院社会工作课程主任何锺建博士欢迎有关计划,认同合作所产生的协同效应对学生有莫大裨益。他说:「澳门社会近年提高了对儿童的成长及发展等各方面的认知,因此有关方面的教育需求亦大幅提升。这项计划除了帮助中心的儿童外,同时亦增加了参与服务的社工同学对社区需求的认识,对他们将来投身社会有很大帮助。」
 
救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心的教学在本月1日正式投入服务,教学理念是「强项为本」,以「多鼓励、多赞赏」的小班教学模式,为有特殊学习需要的学生提供专业的课后支援,为孩子提供发挥潜能的空间。参与成为义工的学生接受了救世军专责导师的培训后,将于暑假开始担任中心导师,并计划于圣诞节期间到救世军其他服务中心交流。
 
关于救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心
救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心为有特殊学习需要的学生提供专业的课后支援。中心由不同专业人士提供服务,包括特殊学习需要专家、临牀心理学家、言语治疗师、职业治疗师、社工等,支援有需要的学生及其家庭。
义工走进社区宣传中心的服务。
义工积极与社区人士交流互动。
澳门城市大学社工系学生义工...