Media Centre
The Salvation Army Appreciation Reception for Employers 2016
Create More Opportunities for Greater Impact
The Salvation Army Appreciation Reception for Employers 2016 was held today (25 November 2016), expressing our gratitude to more than 200 employers and business partners for their support for the Army’s employment and training services, as well as social enterprises. We are honoured to have Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, GBS, JP, Secretary for Labour and Welfare, to officiate at the ceremony. Ms Mimi Kam, General Manager and Head of Human Resources and Corporate Communications Division, The Bank of East Asia, Limited; Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung, CEO of The Lucky House Group Limited and Dr Kee Chi-hing, JP, Adjunct Associate Professor of the School of Business of Hong Kong Baptist University, were invited to share their valuable experiences of fulfilling social responsibility in the commercial sector. 
Creating Market for People with Disabilities
Years ago, The Salvation Army Heng On Workshop introduced a Japanese weaving technique, Saori, to the disabled trainees in order to develop their creativity and enhance their self-confidence. Last year, The Bank of East Asia, Limited, provided a sales platform for the Army. Trainees with disabilities showcased their products in the bank building and large-scale trade fairs, introducing handicrafts made by the disabled to the international market.
Ching, a mildly mentally handicapped trainee, is devoted to making colorful Saori products. Her work was exhibited at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University’s Youreable Fashion Design Exhibition in 2015, where she presented her handmade Saori garment to her mother.
The support of Bank of East Asia, Limited helped Ching not only show her talent, but also increase her allowance as well as her sense of accomplishment. It is encouraging for her to gain recognition from society.
Mentorship Scheme: Motivating Vulnerable Youth 
The Lucky House Group has joined The Salvation Army “Bright Mentors, Bright Mentees” Scheme since 2015, through which over 10 young people have been employed. During a three-month full-time paid internship, participants aged 15 to 29 are provided with guidance of experienced senior staff (the mentors) of the company, professional counselling of Salvation Army social workers, positive inspiration from life mentors, as well as a series of pre-employment training. All these help enhance their employability and confidence as they pursue their dreams and seek stable employment.
Kai was born to a grassroots family. Being an introverted person, he was not good at communicating with others. After graduating from Form 6, he worked as a warehouse assistant and waiter, but ended up unemployed because he could not adapt to the work environment. After joining The Salvation Army “Bright Mentors, Bright Mentees” Scheme, Kai was recruited as a dim sum apprentice at The Banqueting House.
Under the patient guidance of Sang, the mentor, Kai tried his best to change himself, enhancing his skills of making dim sum and communicating with colleagues. His positive attitude was recognised by the company. He and his colleague were recommended to represent the company to take part in the “2016 Best of the Best Culinary Awards”. The team won the Silver Award in the Dim Sum (Rice Rolls) category, the first medal ever for Kai. He has been staying in the job for over a year. He not only takes his mentor as his role model, but also wishes to pass on his spirit and become an outstanding dim sum master to train the next generation.
The Appreciation Reception ...
We are honoured to have Mr ...
Ching, a mildly mentally ha...
Under the patient guidance ...

新闻中心
救世军「僱主感谢礼2016暨协作交流」
机遇传承、效益共享
上一页

救世军今天(11月25日)举行僱主感谢礼2016暨协作交流,向200多位僱主及商界合作伙伴致谢,感谢各方在过去一年支持救世军的就业、培训及採购产品方面的工作。救世军很荣幸邀请到劳工及福利局局长张建宗, GBS, JP担任主礼嘉宾;以及东亚银行总经理兼人力资源及企业传讯处主管甘艳美女士、叙福楼集团执行董事黄杰龙先生和香港浸会大学工商管理学院客席副教授纪治兴博士, JP, 分享企业在实践社会责任时的宝贵经验。


 
拓展市场为残疾人士带来成就感
 
救世军恒安工场早年引进日本纱织(Saori),让残障学员透过布艺发挥创意,增强自信。去年,东亚银行为救世军提供销售平台,安排学员在银行大楼进行展销,并引荐纱织产品到大型展销会,将残障人士的手工艺带进国际市场,让更多人认识他们的才华。
 
轻度智障的阿菁便是其中一份子。色彩斑斓的纱织布燃点了她对工作的热诚,让她的艺术潜能得以发挥。2015年,阿菁的作品在香港理工大学「展才设计展览」中展出,她更在会上送上自己亲手製造的纱织衣给妈妈,场面令人感动;她的创作不但展示了残疾人士的潜能,而且感染了她的家人。
 
东亚银行的支持,进一步推动阿菁在纱织艺术上的发展。不但让更多人认识和欣赏她的艺术才华,亦为她增加工作训练的收入;而更重要的是大大提升了她的成就感。对阿菁来说,自己的作品获得别人认同,实在令她感到鼓舞。
 
师徒配助内向青年闯职场
 
叙福楼集团于2015年开始参与救世军「名师出GOAL徒」计划,聘请了10多位青年。计划的对象为15至29岁的青年,透过三个月有薪全职实习,配合经验丰富的公司资深职员(师傅)的带领、救世军教育及就业服务社工的专业辅导、生命导师的正面启发,以及一系列职前培训,提升参加者的就业力和自信心,帮助他们追寻理想,稳定就业。
 
基层出身的阿佳性格内向,不懂与人沟通。中六毕业后,他做过仓务员和侍应,却因不适应工作环境而失业。后来,他参加「名师出GOAL徒」计划,在救世军接受就业培训课程,然后便入职「御苑皇宴」做点心学徒。
 
在师傅生哥的耐心教导下,阿佳努力改变自己,追求提升做点心的功夫,亦开始主动与同事沟通。良好的态度得到师傅赏识,他获公司推荐跟同事代表公司出战「2016美食之最大赏」,一举勇夺「点心:肠粉」组别银奖,赢取人生第一面奖牌。阿佳至今已稳定工作超过一年,不但以师傅为目标,更希望承传他的精神,将来成为独当一面的点心师傅,培育下一代。
救世军举行僱主感谢礼2016暨...
救世军很荣幸邀请到劳工及福...
纱织燃点了轻度智障的阿菁对...
在师傅生哥(右)的耐心教导...