Media Centre
The Salvation Army Orienteering 2016
Navigate on Nathan Road at Night to Light up People in Darkness
back
The Salvation Army Orienteering was held on 29 October 2016 (Saturday). More than 1,000 participants gathered at the Piazza of the Kowloon Park in Tsim Sha Tsui to attend the kick-off ceremony officated by Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, GBS, JP, Secretary for Labour and Welfare of The Government of the HKSAR.    
 
The Salvation Army Orienteering is a charitable city challenge game which has been organised for 14 years. It is the first time that the game has been held at night. There were four categories: Corporate, Elite, Explorer and Student. Corporate and Elite Teams searched for checkpoints in Yau Tsim Mong and Sham Shui Po Districts. The game area of Explorer and Student Teams was in Yau Tsim Mong. They challenged their body and mind and raised more than $880,000 for the Army’s services for street sleepers and young night drifters.
 
This year’s Salvation Army Orienteering held at night aims to draw more attention to those struggling in their dark period. Many checkpoints were the service areas of the Army, such as the hot spots of young night drifters and street sleepers. Workshops were also available at some checkpoints to let participants feel the difficulties the marginalised encounter. 
 
Felicity, a trainee solicitor, said, "I ran through a tunnel where mattresses and umbrellas are placed, while mansions are just nearby. I absolutely agree that we need to care for the needy in society."
 
In the experience corner, the participants set a sleeping area on the ground and covered themselves with wet blankets, feeling the poor living condition of the homeless. Yoyo, one of the participants, said, "The cardboard paper is stinky and my clothes are wet. It made me think of the street sleepers' condition in rainy days. This experience is meaningful."
 
Acknowledgement
 
The Salvation Army would like to express its heartfelt thanks to the event Principal Sponsor, The Bank of East Asia, Limited, for its ongoing support and participation. Thanks also go to Sun Hung Kai Properties Ltd. for being the event’s Major Sponsor, as well as Sponsors including Thong Sia Watch Co. Ltd., ECCO, Polywell Printing & Supplies Ltd. and Grace Cup Co. Ltd.
 
Media Support Partner: Platform Culture
 
We are also thankful for the support of the following organisations:
ESDlife
IVElite (volunteer student of the Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education)
Orienteering Association of Hong Kong
Wilson Park
Youth Advance Orienteering Club
Participants search for the...
The officiating guests and ...
Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung...
Participants search for the...
Participants search for the...
Felicity (1st right), a tra...
Yoyo (1st right) said that ...

新闻中心
救世军黑夜定向 追踪夜弥敦
照亮活在黑暗中的人
上一页
「救世军黑夜定向」昨日(2016年10月29日)举行,超过一千名参加者傍晚齐集尖沙咀九龙公园广场出席起步仪式。在主礼嘉宾劳工及福利局局长张建宗, GBS, JP鸣笛后,参加者向着尖沙咀、油麻地、旺角和深水埗的大街小巷进发,为救世军露宿者和深宵青少年外展服务筹得超过88万元。
 
「救世军定向」是一项慈善城市定向比赛,今年已踏入第14年,并且首次从日间改至夜间进行。赛事分四个杯赛:机构盃、精英盃、探索盃和学生盃。其中机构盃和精英盃的比赛范围由油尖旺伸延至深水埗;探索盃和学生盃则在油尖旺区。
 
救世军将定向路线设于九龙半岛最繁华的地区,希望唤起更多有心人关注在繁荣的背后、活于社会边缘的一羣。在比赛中,参加者途经多个救世军服务单位,如露宿者和青少年服务中心;并透过体验活动,让参加者代入露宿者和「夜青」的角色,了解他们所面对的困难。
 
见习律师Felicity说:「比赛途中,我经过一条隧道,没想过在这些通道上,竟然有牀褥、雨伞,有着生活的痕迹;而这些(露宿的)地方附近就是豪宅。我很同意,我们要关心社会。」
 
在露宿体验区中,参加者要先搭建露宿地摊,然后睡在其上,再盖上一件湿的被单,亲身体验露宿者恶劣的生活环境。参加者Yoyo说:「纸皮有一阵『噏』味,加上件湿的衫,令我想起,刚刚下雨后,露宿者的生活就是这样。体验活动好好。」
 
鸣谢
 
「救世军定向」实有赖各贊助机构和合作团体的鼎力支持。救世军特别感谢首席贊助东亚银行和主要贊助新鸿基地产。
 
其他贊助包括:通城钟錶有限公司、ECCO、雅景印务文化有限公司及康恩有限公司。媒体合作伙伴:八方文化。技术合作伙伴:香港定向总会和青进野外定向会。
 
救世军亦感谢生活易、威信停车场和香港专业教育学院义工队的支持。「救世军定向日」实有赖各贊助机构和合作团体的鼎力支持。
 
 
参加者穿梭油尖旺区,探索社...
主礼嘉宾与超过一千名参加者...
劳工及福利局局长张建宗为活...
参加者穿梭油尖旺区,探索社...
参加者穿梭油尖旺区,探索社...
见习律师Felicity(右一)表示...
参加者Yoyo(右一)与队友在露...