Media Centre
The Salvation Army x Hong Kong Federation of Restaurants & Related Trades
Green plus Work Safety Chef Training Scheme Appreciation Ceremony
back
The Green plus Work Safety Chef Training Scheme organised by The Salvation Army and Hong Kong Federation of Restaurants and Related Trades Charitable Foundation Limited (HKFORT) is fully supported by Hong Kong Electric, Labour Department, Occupational Safety & Health Council and Qualifications Framework Secretariat. Three terms of training courses have been arranged for the middle-aged and the youth who are interested in becoming chefs and related professionals in the catering industry. Today (14 October 2016), an Appreciation Ceremony was held to share the transformation stories of the participants and demonstrate the achievements of the scheme.
 
Mr Leung Wing-yan, Deputy Commissioner of the Labour Department, officiated at the ceremony. He said that the scheme linking up the catering industry with the job seekers created a win-win situation. As one of the major industries in Hong Kong, the catering industry provides a considerable number of job opportunities. Regardless of job experience, age and ability, as long as the job seekers are interested in the catering industry, they were welcome to join the scheme to receive a two-week intensive training on cooking techniques in Western and Chinese cuisine, work safety knowledge and the usage of electrical cooking appliances.
 
Participants who finished the course were referred to the recruitment session to seek apprenticeship in restaurants. The supporting restaurants assigned senior staff as mentors to help the participants adapt to the working environment and provide on-the-job training, while The Salvation Army social workers provide consultation services to the mentors and apprentices. The scheme aims at boosting the employability of the participants and developing their career path. In addition, the supporting restaurants can recruit potential staff for further business development. Both sides benefit from this scheme. 
 
A total of 31 persons aged 16 to 58 have joined the scheme so far. 16 of them were employed by the supporting restaurants, including Tai Hing Catering Group, Tao Heung Group, Black Sheep Restaurants, King Parrot Group, etc. 
 
Case Sharing 1: From a housewife to a chef
 
Ms Lui was born in Mainland China and moved to Hong Kong with her husband more than a decade ago. In the early years of arrival, she had been working as a part-time waitress due to language barriers. Ms Lui recently wanted to find a stable job to improve her living because her children have already grown up. However, her age and lack of experience made her unable to find a better job.
 
During the counseling of The Salvation Army Education and Employment Services, Ms Lui told The Salvation Army social worker that she is interested in cook jobs. Then she was transferred to the Green plus Work Safety Chef Training Scheme and learned basic cooking skills of Chinese and Western cuisine. Once she learned to cook a new dish, she practised at home and asked her daughter to give comments. Her proactive and positive attitude was finally rewarded. She was employed by a German restaurant under King Parrot Group after the training.
 
In the new job, Ms Lui had difficulty communicating with English speaking colleagues and working for longer hours. To help her adapt to the challenges, the employer gave her a grace period, shortening her working hours and lowering the working pace. Currently, Ms Lui has already got used to the working environment and has successfully improved her living.
 
Case Sharing 2: More than a Job
 
Mr Tam is one of the participants in the first term of the scheme. He has been a renovation worker but was owed wages by his employer. As a result, he could not afford the rent and was forced to sleep in the park for a week. After seeking assistance from The Salvation Army Integrated Service for Street Sleepers, he stayed at The Salvation Army Yee On Hostel and was introduced to the Green plus Work Safety Chef Training Scheme.
 
Within two weeks, he attended a catering course, a job safety talk, a knife knowledge and technique training course, and became an apprentice at HK Electric’s Electric Commercial Kitchen where he learnt to make various dishes with electrical cooking appliances.
 
In the last day of the training, interviews were conducted by the catering companies. With a good performance, Mr Tam was hired by Trusty Congee King of Tai Hing Catering Group where he met senior chefs who are willing to guide him.
 
Mr Tam has been working there for over eight months. Despite the busy life and long working hours, he gains a sense of achievement at work and has developed a passion for cooking. So far he has attained the second grade of the qualification certificate, and is going to take the first grade test in the near future.
 
 
The Green plus Work Safety ...
Ms Lui finds a job which ca...
Mr Tam who was forced to be...

新闻中心
救世军 x 餐饮联「环保 • 职安健厨师培育计划」嘉许礼
上一页
由救世军、香港餐饮联业慈善基金有限公司(餐饮联)合办,香港电灯有限公司全力支持,劳工处、职业安全健康局、资历架构秘书处为支持机构的「环保 • 职安健厨师培育计划」已完成三期课程,培育有兴趣加入餐饮业的中年人士及年青人,希望他们成为本地餐饮业专才。为总结计划经验及分享成果,救世军和餐饮联于今日(2016年10月14日)举行嘉许礼。
 
今日的嘉许礼,大会很荣幸邀请到香港特别行政区政府劳工处副处长梁永恩先生作主礼嘉宾,鼓励透过多方协作,为餐饮业和求职市场製造双赢局面。餐饮业作为本港重点行业之一,提供大量就业机会。因应行业需求殷切,计划招聘有意进入餐饮行业人士,不论经验、年龄、能力,透过一连两星期的密集式训练,教授餐饮行业的实务知识,由刀工、刀法之应用以至于中西式烹调技巧、电能环保设备、职安健等元素均有涉及。
 
学员完成课程后均可获引荐参与招聘会,有机会在提供厨务职位之参与计划的餐饮企业实习。餐饮企业会委派资深同事协助他们适应工作环境,并提供在职培训;救世军社工则从中协调。计划既帮助参加者能提昇就业力,长远则可建立个人事业;而合作餐饮企业亦能够培训厨务专才,拓展业务,建立双赢局面。
 
「环保•职安健厨师培育计划」推出三期试验课程至今,共训练了31名学员,年龄介乎16岁至58岁,其中16人获聘进入餐饮行业,曾参与计划的餐饮集团包括太兴饮食集团、稻香集团、Black Sheep Restaurants、景乐集团等。
 
个案分享(一) :从家庭主妇到学厨,为家庭创出一片天
 
出生自内地的吕女士,十多年前跟随丈夫移居香港。来港初期由于语言问题遇到很大的求职困难,一直任职兼职侍应以应付家庭开支。随着子女渐长,吕女士希望可以找到一份稳定的工作改善生活,可惜过程却未如想像般顺利,经验不足和年龄问题使她多番尝试后仍未能觅得一份理想的工作。
 
在救世军教育及就业服务的社工辅导过程中,吕女士表示对厨务工作感兴趣,经社工转介参加「厨师培育计划」。计划让她有机会接受厨务工作的培训,认识基本的中、西餐的厨艺技巧。过程中吕女士积极学习,在学到一道新菜式之后,她会尝试在家烹调菜式给女儿试食,让女儿提出改善的意见。凭着一颗愿意学习的心,在完成计划培训后,吕女士成功获得景乐集团聘用于旗下德国餐厅工作。
 
对吕女士而言,重新起步面对着不少挑战,例如以英语沟通的同事和与过去不同的工作时间等。有见及此,公司为吕女士安排一个过渡阶段,入职初期安排较短的工作时间,帮助她慢慢调节和适应全新的工作环境。现时吕女士对工作环境适应顺利,透过计划她找到一份理想工作从而改善生活。
 
个案分享(二):从露宿边缘到看见将来
 
谭先生是第一期计划的参加者。本来一直做装修业的他,因被判头公司拖欠了薪金几个月,没有钱交租及生活,更在公园露宿了一星期。他知道单靠自己的能力很难走出困境,因此主动向救世军露宿者综合服务求助。社工除了安排他入住救世军怡安宿舍外,亦向他介绍了「环保•职安健厨师培育计划」。
 
从来没有想过自己会转行做餐饮业的他,本着一试无妨的心态,参加这为期两个星期的培训课程,当中除了餐饮出品部课程、职安健讲座、刀具认识及刀法应用外、还可以到港灯「商电厨房」实习,一班学员分组透过电能煮食烹调不同的菜式,学习不同的刀工及烹调技巧。
 
在课程的最后一天,计划的餐饮企业来为学员们进行面试,谭先生面试表现良好,很快就被安排到太兴饮食集团旗下的「靠得住」工作。谭先生带着期待又兴奋的心情入职,他很幸运地在工作的地方遇到很好人的厨房「大佬」,给了他不少机会,教了他很多东西。
 
谭先生至今已在餐厅工作了八个多月,虽然厨房工作繁忙,工作时间又较长,但他在工作中获得成功感和满足感,而且培养了对煮食的兴趣,放假在家也会自己煮餸。谭先生工作不足一年的时间,但已经成功考了二级厨师试,在未来也计划考一级试,希望在工作上更上一层楼,亦对将来多了一点期盼及希望感。
 

 

由救世军、香港餐饮联业慈善...
吕女士参与计划后,觅得一份...
计划令谭先生从露宿边缘中走...