Media Centre
Summer Caring Programme
Deliver Electric Fans to the Elderly in Need
back
This summer is extraordinarily hot. The average maximum temperature in June in Hong Kong reached 32.4 degrees and the highest temperature was even up to 35.5 degrees. Sultry weather makes elders easily feel sick. However, the cost of living keeps going up, most grassroots elders are reluctant to spend money on new electric fans to improve ventilation at home.
 
To ensure a comfortable and safe summer for grassroots elderly, Midland IC&I Limited and The Salvation Army have organised an elderly care programme by presenting them with new electric fans. A total of 206 fans sponsored by Midland IC&I Limited are given to the elderly in need through the Army. Better air ventilation can help reduce the risk of heat stroke.
 
Today (28 July), Mr Daniel Wong, Chief Executive Officer of Midland IC&I Limited, and volunteers of Midland IC&I Limited, presented the fans to the first group of beneficiaries. Ms Mui, 85 years old, is one of the beneficiaries living alone in a small poorly ventilated public housing unit. She has low physical mobility and poor health. As the temperature goes up, she could only turn on an old fan with little energy. When a new fan was presented to her by the volunteers, she was overjoyed and said, “This is so great! Thank you all very much!”
 
This summer, The Salvation Army is going to give the electric fans donated by Midland IC&I Limited to 206 elders in need, so as to improve their living condition.
Ms Mui (2nd right) is overj...
A total of 206 fans sponsor...

新闻中心
「风」中传情
炎炎夏日 向弱势长者送电风扇
上一页
今年夏天异常酷热,本港六月的平均最高气温达到32.4度,其中一日更录得35.5度。闷热的天气令长者难以适应,但为了应付不断上涨的基本生活开支,大部分基层长者都捨不得花钱添置或更换耗损的电风扇。
 
为令基层长者过一个舒适、安全的夏天,美联工商舖与救世军合办「『风』中传情 - 关爱长者计划」,由美联工商舖认捐206把全新的电风扇,再经救世军送给弱势长者,使长者的家居全日保持空气流通,减低中暑的可能。
 
今日(7月28日),美联工商舖行政总裁黄汉成先生与美联工商舖关爱义工队成员,将第一批电风扇送到长者的手中。其中一位受惠长者是85岁的梅婆婆,她行动不便,健康欠佳,独居于细小而侷促的公屋单位。天气酷热时,因家中没有冷气设备,她便开动电风扇消暑,虽然陈旧的风扇风力微弱,但为了省钱,她仍然继续使用。当梅婆婆收到美联工商舖关爱义工和救世军人员送来的全新电风扇,她立即喜上眉梢:「真好了!好多谢你们呀!」
 
救世军将在这个盛夏,陆续送出由美联工商舖同事捐出的电风扇,为206名有需要的长者送上清风,让他们安心在家避暑。
 
梅婆婆(右二)很高兴义工探...
美联工商舖捐出206把全新电风...