Media Centre
Help the Youth See the Bright Side
The Salvation Army “I Am a Hope Builder Campaign”
back
In the fast changing world, we are flooded by a huge amount of information every day. It is difficult for our younger generation to stay calm to solve their problems and express their emotions. To prevent the youth from committing suicide, The Salvation Army launched the “I Am a Hope Builder Campaign” in April. The public are encouraged to care for not only the youth, but also their parents. Family is the first supporting network to the youth. If parents acquire the parent-child communication skills, they can help their children release stress and direct them to think positively. 
 
Targets: Both the Youth and Their Parents
 
On 10 April, The Salvation Army held a kick-off ceremony of the “I Am a Hope Builder Campaign” at The Salvation Army Tai Wo Hau Children and Youth Centre, gathering nearly 100 “Hope Builders”, who are volunteers of different ages from The Salvation Army Children and Youth Centres, The Salvation Army Corps (churches) and the commercial sector, including students, young working adults and parents. They swore an oath to walk with the youth in need and their families and called more people to become “Hope Builders”.
 
One of the Hope Builders, May Hui, started to help families in need through The Salvation Army three years ago. She knew an introverted girl who has a mother with serious mood disorder and a busy working father. The upset girl worried about her mother and the family’s financial condition very much, but had no one to talk to. Ms Hui then took the initiative to visit the family. Throughout a year, the girl considered Ms Hui as a good friend who would listen to her inner thoughts, such as worries about her mother’s condition and promotion to a faraway secondary school. Ms Hui has always been a strong supporter of the girl and the mother with timely recognition and encouragement.
 
Ms Catherine Mak, Service Supervisor of The Salvation Army Youth, Family and Community Services, said it is equally important to support both the parents and the youth. Parents may have personal problems or perhaps are not good at expressing care and love, which affects the growth of the youngsters. In fact, parents’ proper response can lead the youngsters with negative emotions out of blind alleys.
 
Become a Hope Builder
 
To help the youth have faith in hope, The Salvation Army will organise a number of activities from April to June in various districts in Hong Kong, including promotion of positive messages in the community, workshops for parents and youth camps with the theme of fighting adversity. Everyone in the community is welcome to become a Hope Builder through The Salvation Army children and youth centres in Chai Wan, Tuen Mun, Wong Tai Sin, Shatin, Yaumatei, Tai Wo Hau and Tai Po. Please contact us at Coco_Chan@hkt.salvationarmy.org or 2428 4581 before 30 April 2016. Join us to help our next generation!
 
Hope Builders pledge to hel...
Hope Builders are volunteer...
Hope Builders, May Hui has ...

新闻中心
成为青年的「筑」福者
救世军「我是『筑』福者运动」
上一页
面对社会快速转变,资讯爆炸的年代,成年人都有时无所适从,更何况是成长中的青少年?近期接连发生多宗青年自杀事件,大家心痛之馀,如何用行动来守护他们?
 
救世军于四月发动「我是『筑』福者运动」,鼓励人人关心身边的青年人和他们的家人。家庭是青年人第一个保护网,如果家长懂得关心子女的方法,有时候只要一句简单的问候,一个亲切的笑容,便可以驱散年青人的鬱闷,扶持他们正面地应付成长中的挑战。
 
年青人、家长双轨并行
 
救世军于4月10日在救世军大窝口青少年中心举行「筑」福会,为运动揭开序幕。会上,第一批近100名的「筑」福者聚首一堂,他们有来自救世军青少年中心、救世军部队(教会)和企业的义工,年龄层面广泛,由青年学生、职青至家长。他们承诺与身边的青年人及其家人同行,并呼吁更多人成为「筑」福者。
 
其中一位「筑」福者许凤仪表示,三年前,她开始经救世军接触有需要的家庭。有一位非常内向的女孩子,因为妈妈患严重的情绪病,爸爸又忙于工作,虽然她担忧妈妈和家庭经济,却又不懂得与人倾诉,经常没精打彩,低头不语。后来,许凤仪主动关心那女孩,热心探访她和她的妈妈,经过一年多的沟通,女孩已视她为朋友,不时说出心中的忧虑,例如「妈妈又不开心」或「担心升到离家很远的中学,而无钱搭车」等。许凤仪成为女孩和她妈妈身边的支持者后,给予她们肯定,为她们送上正面的能量。
 
救世军高级主任(青年、家庭及社区服务)麦咏仪表示,在扶助青年人时,关心家长亦非常重要。父母可能有自己的困难,或者不懂得表达对子女的关心,因而影响了青年人的成长;而当青年人情绪低落时,只要父母作出适当回应,便有机会避免青年人鑽牛角尖。
 
成为「筑」福者
 
为了帮助身边的年青人「筑」起褔气及希望的信念,救世军将于四月至六月在香港各区举办不同活动,包括设立街站在社区传递正面讯息、举办家长工作坊和年青人抗逆体验营等。大家又可以加入「筑」福者行列,在救世军于柴湾、屯门、黄大仙、沙田、油麻地、大窝口和大埔的青少年服务中心,关心社区的青年人及其家人。2016年4月30日前,只要致电2428 4581,或电邮至Coco_Chan@hkt.salvationarmy.org,便可以成为「筑」福者,一齐守护我们的青年人。
 
「筑」福者承诺关心青年人,...
「筑」福者年龄层面广泛,包...
「筑」福者许凤仪曾经关心一...