Media Centre
Charity x Green x Art
The Salvation Army Upcycling Product Exhibition
back
With amazing creativity, the disabled are able to turn unwanted materials into stylish products. “WeUse” is a new signature logo created by The Salvation Army Heng On Integrated Service for Rehabilitation for a series of upcycling products made by the disabled, such as colourful containers made of paper rolls, pencil bags made of tires, paper pads made of wooden wine boxes and bags made of second-hand jeans. Producing these eco-friendly products helps the disabled obtain more job opportunities, bringing them income as well as job satisfaction. The Upcycling Product Exhibition was held in Wanchai from 29 to 30 January. Free art workshops were held. People from different sectors shared the joy of the achievement of the disabled.
 
Sharing from Trainees
 
1. Leung Hon-wai, aged 35, is mildly mentally handicapped and physically impaired. He has joined The Salvation Army Heng On Integrated Service for Rehabilitation since 1999 and has recently taken part in producing wooden pads. Wai has gained new knowledge, skills and experience. More importantly he has discovered his strengths and interests which bring him a sense of achievement.
 
2. Ting Yuen-fung is a discharged mental patient and has performed field work for The Salvation Army Heng On Integrated Service for Rehabilitation since 2002. Now over 60, his legs become weak. After being transferred to the “handicraft production team”, he has discovered his talent and interest in wood crafting and joins hands with Leung Hon-wai to decorate the wooden pads. Ting says it is never too late to develop one’s talent at any age.
 
WeUse
 
“WeUse” is a signature logo of a series of upcycling products which bring the discarded materials to life. The aims of creating this logo are to support local recycling green products and promote the handicrafts made by the Salvation Army disabled trainees. These products not only provide our trainees with more job opportunities to increase their income, but also enhance their self-confidence and self-esteem.
 
Contribution of Different Parties
 
The Salvation Army Heng On Integrated Service for Rehabilitation organises the programme “Dream Fly With Me - Amazing Upcycling Art Products", which is sponsored by Rotary Club of Hong Kong Northwest and supported by the Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi), Mr Kevin Cheung, a famous local green products designer, as well as Mr Joe Yiu, a well-known local interior designer. Under the theme of “LOHAS Lifestyle”, a series of upcycling eco-friendly art products are made by the disabled.
Upcycling products, WeUse, ...
Leung Hon-wai (right) draws...
Paper pads made of wooden w...
Bags made of second-hand je...
Containers made of paper ro...

新闻中心
慈善X环保X艺术
救世军復康人士创意产品展览
上一页
復康人士同样创意无限、别具匠心,能将废弃物改头换面,升级再造成时尚生活用品。救世军恒安综合復康服务以「WeUse」为产品标誌,由復康人士製造一系列升级再造产品,他们将废纸筒变成「迷彩筒」、单车内胎造成笔袋、回收酒箱化成木箧子、旧牛仔裤缝製成时尚布袋,既善用地球资源,又为復康人士带来工作机会和收入,让他们享受工作带来的满足感。产品由1月29日至30日在湾仔动漫基地展览及展销,场内更设有免费环保艺术工作坊,让社会各界分享復康人士努力的成果。
 
学员分享
 
1. 35岁的梁汉威是肢体残障人士,患有轻度智障,1999年起加入救世军综合復康服务。阿威参与製作木箧子,他觉得在过程中学到新知识和技巧,体验了许多人生的第一次,让他发掘自己的长处和兴趣,令他感到很开心、满足。
 
2. 丁远丰是精神病康復者,自2002年起在救世军综合復康服务从事外勤工作。现在年过60,他脚部开始退化,于是获安排加入「环保工艺组」,却因而发掘了自己的工艺天份。他渐渐爱上了木刻工艺,并与梁汉威分工合作,一起製作木板画。远丰认为无论任何年纪都能发挥所长,有心不怕迟。
 
产品简介
 
由救世军復康学员製作的WeUse环保艺术升级产品,将被视为零价值的废置物重新注入生命。计划一方面鼓励本地环保产品创作,宣扬循环再造的精神;另一方面将救世军復康服务学员的手工艺推出市场,打造创意时尚品牌,让復康人士有机会发挥所长,从而提升自信心和自尊感。
 
各界合作推动
 
救世军恒安综合復康服务举办「伴我梦飞翔 - 环保艺术之旅」计划,以「LOHAS Lifestyle」为主题,让復康人士设计出一系列升级再造的创意环保艺术产品。计划承蒙香港西北区扶轮社贊助,并与香港高等科技教育学院(THEi)、本地着名环保产品设计师张玮晋先生,以及着名室内设计师姚俊杰先生共同合作。
在各界的支持下,由救世军復...
梁汉威(右)绘图后,便交丁...
回收酒箱化成木箧子。
旧牛仔裤和单车内胎造成的袋。
废纸筒变成的「迷彩筒」。