Media Centre
The Salvation Army Employers’ Appreciation Ceremony 2015
Step Forward to Create Opportunities
The Salvation Army Employers’ Appreciation Ceremony was held today (6 November), expressing our gratitude to 286 employers and business partners for supporting the Army’s employment and training services in the past year. We are honoured to have Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, GBS, JP, Secretary for Labour and Welfare, to officiate at the ceremony. The Army shared stories about how we work with corporates to care for the community and make an impact on the society.
Mentorship Scheme: Motivating Vulnerable Youth
Fire, aged 22, is an introvert. He always plays online games from dawn to dusk and watches anime, isolating himself from family and the community. However, he had a turning point in September 2014 when he joined the Rotary Youth SMART Mentorship Scheme organised by The Salvation Army and Rotary International District 3450. In October 2014, he started to work as an operator in Fuji Xerox Document Management Solutions Asia Limited, under the guidance from a mentor of the company, the Salvation Army social worker, and the Rotary “life master” Mr Mawin Cheung. 
Fire said, “Mawin is like my uncle. He changed me slowly and prompted me to think if I can change my future. When I reach 60 years old, I hope I will not regret.” Fire has been working for over a year. With his supervisor’s appreciation, he is taking the role of training new staff. Now Fire has a stronger sense of responsibility and has set a new goal ─ to learn Japanese and work as a computer game designer in Japan.
New Initiatives: Supporting The Disabled Athletes Develop Their Potentials
The Salvation Army Fitness Box has employed mentally handicapped athletes as assistant fitness couches, including Mr Leung Yiu-wa who won the championship in the Special Olympics World Games which is an international sports event for athletes with intellectual disabilities. Fitness Box not only provides job opportunities for the disabled, but also serves as a platform for them to develop their career. This year, a fitness workshop “Building a Fit Team” is tailor-made for corporates. In the workshop, the disabled athletes will be the fitness assistants, so that participants may appreciate their sportsmanship and understand more about the potentials of the disabled.
Employment Support: Helping The Mentally Handicapped Maintain A Job
Choi Yee-ling is mildly mentally handicapped, aged 31. With the support of The Salvation Army Heng On Integrated Service for Rehabilitation, She obtained a job as a waitress in Café de Coral since 2007. Toiling all day, she thought of quitting, but never did it after joining the Army’s employment support network. With assistance and encouragement by peers and social workers, she has been working there for over 8 years.
The employment support network provides a series of post-employment support to the disabled, such as case management (i.e. emotion support and counselling) and support services for employers. It helps the service users to build social network among colleagues, and fosters communication between the service users and employers.
Collaboration with Social Enterprises: Caring with Innovations
Ethical Consumption
The Salvation Army, together with Tithe Ethical Consumption and Hong Yip Service Company Limited, have organised a number of bazaars in Hong Yip properties since last year, so as to promote the concept of “ethical consumption”. Residents were encouraged to purchase products of social enterprises, including healthy food and handicrafts from The Salvation Army’s social enterprises. Mr Patrick Ho, Property Manager of Hong Yip Service Company Limited said, “Many residents are willing to change their consumption behaviour because we see the benefits brought by social enterprises. They help people live with dignity and value.”
Help The Youth Chase Their Dreams
Aman, owner of a café, is also a tutor to train a group of youth to operate a coffee corner in a Salvation Army unit. Aman provided valuable advice for equipment installation and decorations. He said, “My biggest return is seeing them become mature and have more confidence. I will continue to encourage them to chase their dream, because when I was young, I was also encouraged by others.”
The Salvation Army Employer...
Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung...
Mr Leung Yiu-wa (1st left),...

新闻中心
救世军「僱主感谢礼2015」
多行一步 共创机遇
上一页
救世军今天(11月6日)举行僱主感谢礼,向286位僱主及商界合作伙伴致谢,感谢各方在过去一年支持救世军的就业、培训及採购产品方面的工作。救世军很荣幸邀请到劳工及福利局局长张建宗, GBS, JP担任主礼嘉宾。救世军向在场人士分享与不同企业多行一步、携手让有需要的社群得到关怀的故事,与商界共创机遇。
 
师徒计划:激励宅男向上游
 
22岁的Fire是典型宅男,最爱从早到晚上网打机、看动漫,与家人关係疏离。去年9月,Fire透过救世军参加了由救世军和国际扶轮3450地区合办的「扶轮青年师徒计划」,那成为他人生中的转捩点。同年10月,他成功入职富士施乐文件处理有限公司,担任操作助理(Operator),除了获得公司委派的师傅和救世军社工的指导外,他也从国际扶轮3450地区「生命导师」张万伟先生(Mawin)身上得到启发。
 
Fire说:「Mawin好像亲人一样,慢慢影响我,令我思考自己是否有能力改变呢?我都不希望到五六十岁时,才后悔年轻时甚麽都没做到。」Fire现已稳定工作逾一年,得到上司赞赏,更获安排教导新人。他不但对工作有了责任感,亦有了人生目标:学好日文,往日本发展事业 ── 电脑游戏程式员。
 
创新机遇:让金牌运动员发挥才华
 
今年起,救世军社企「创健堡」开始聘用智障运动员担任健体助理,而「特殊奥林匹克夏季世界比赛」得奖者梁耀华便是其中之一。创健堡不但为他提供就业及培训机会,让他继续发挥才华;同时亦增加课堂学员对復康人士的认识,并学习其「体育精神」,从而推动伤健共融的气氛。救世军创健堡今年更特别推出为企业度身订造的「办公室保健运动班」,希望让僱员拥有健康体魄之馀,亦能从復康人士身上获得多一分感动和鼓励。
 
就业支援:助智障人士稳定工作
 
一般打工仔搵工跳槽,实属閒事;但对轻度智障的蔡绮玲来说,一个工作机会也得来不易。蔡绮玲现年31岁,她在救世军恒安综合復康服务的协助下,从2007年起,在大家乐集团任职服务员。她曾因工作辛苦而萌生辞职的念头,但因为加入了救世军復康就业服务的毕业同学会「青云网络」,她及时得到支援和鼓励,现已稳定工作超过8年了。
 
「青云网络」为成功就业的残疾人士提供入职后的一条龙支援服务,包括个案的服务后跟进(如情绪支援及辅导)、对僱主的支援等,以协助个案人士建立同侪关係和跟僱主沟通。同时,残疾人士在网络内可联繫朋友,有需要时社工能即时介入提供援助。
 
社企合作: 创意爱心展关怀
 
屋苑齐撑良心消费
救世军与「十一良心消费」及康业服务有限公司去年起在屋苑举办多个社企展销,推广「良心消费」的概念,鼓励公司旗下屋苑的住客购买社企产品,包括救世军社企的健康食品和工艺品。社企产品推出后,得到不少居民支持,康业服务有限公司高级分区经理何承恩说:「好多居民都愿意和我们一齐改变社会的消费习惯,因为我们见到社企带来的机会,让每个人都能够生活得更有尊严,更有价值。」
 
助青年寻梦
咖啡店年轻老闆Aman是一群青年的咖啡班导师,后来更帮助他们在救世军单位尝试营运一个咖啡阁,追寻理想。他在工具、陈设等各方面提供宝贵意见,并说:「见到他们变得成熟、有自信,就是我最大的回报。我会继续鼓励他们追逐梦想,因为我年轻的时候都曾经被人鼓励过。」
救世军僱主感谢礼向286位僱主...
劳工及福利局局长张建宗担任...
自闭兼轻度智障运动员梁耀华...