Media Centre
The Salvation Army “Survey on Electricity Usage of N-noers”
N-noers’ Electricity Fee Overcharged
Independent Meters & Electricity Subsidies Needed
back
In summer, the high temperature of the sub-divided units is almost unbearable for “N-noers”, who need to turn on air-conditioners and unavoidably increase the use of electricity. Therefore, The Salvation Army interviewed 244 “N-noers” (table 1) in June 2015 to understand their practice in using electrical appliances and their methods of paying the electricity fee. It shows that due to the lack of independent meters, “N-noers” are forced to pay an abnormally high electricity fee to the property owners. Worse still, they cannot benefit from the government’s electricity subsidy scheme. As their expenditure increases, they suffer a hard life. The Salvation Army suggests the government and power companies install independent meters in the sub-divided units, where “N-noers” are living in, and provide direct subsidy or allowance for them.
 
According to our findings, 42.8% of “N-noers” income is spent on electricity fee and rent. 83.6% families have a higher electricity fee than the “affordable rate of electricity fee” (*1) (table 2). Last summer, the interviewees reduced the use of other electrical appliances and used air-conditioners more (table 3). The median of monthly electricity fee was $350, which was higher than that in the first half year of 2015 ($300) for 16.7% (table 4). 69.3% “N-noers” do not have independent meters of power companies (table 5). 68.8% interviewees need to pay the electricity fee directly to the property owners (table 6) and 83.3% of them pay a much higher electricity fee than the minimum rate of the power companies (table 7). Only 2.2% interviewees can accurately tell the electricity subsidy and allowance scheme.
 
“N-noers” are working labours who do not own any private flats, do not live in public housing estates, and do not apply for comprehensive social security assistance (CSSA). The Salvation Army has been providing direct services to “N-noers” with the Community Care Fund since 2012. However, as the value of private property keeps rising, the rental rate has increased for 44%(*2) in these three years . The Army has been studying the percentage of rental expenditure of family income for three years, which has increased 29.7%(*3). Although subsidies have been released by the Community Care Fund, the specific needs of “N-noers” are not met.
 
*1: The “affordable rate of electrity fee” is less than 1.77% of the total family income, according to the Monthly Report on the Consumer Price Index by Census and Statistic Department in May 2015, P.28.
*2: “ ‘Private Domestic – Price Index’ reaches the highest among the past 10 years”, Mingpao, 25 June 2015.
*3: In January 2013, The Salvation Army released a survey about “N-noers”. From that time till April 2015, the percentage of rental expenditure of family income rises from 31.4% to 40.8%.
 
Case 1: Ah Fu (alias), 24 years old
 
Ah Fu (alias) has been living alone since 17 years old. He originally rented a 80 sq. ft. sub-divided unit in Sai Wan Ho, but due to the increasing rent, he first moved to Shaukeiwan, then moved farther away from urban areas ($4,800 rent/month, $2/electricity unit, $10/water unit). He has been living in a tin-sheeted flat in the rural area of Yuen Long for three years, paying a rent of $3,200 and a sum of $500 electricity fee per month. When summer comes, the tin-sheeted flat absorbs so much heat that Ah Fu needs to turn on the air-conditioner, hence the electricity fee rises. Unfortunately, he lost his job after injury. Even when the air-conditioner broke, he could not afford to repair it. Now he has to bear over 40˚C in the flat every day.
 
Case 2: Ms Wong, over 40 years old
 
Ms Wong is a single mother, living in a sub-divided unit with her son in Shamshuipo. Her income relies on subsidies and part-time jobs. The 100 sq. ft. unit has poor air ventilation. The indoor temperature is much higher than that outside, so it is necessary to turn on the air-conditioner. However, the property owner charges a high electricity rate and does not accurately count the use of electricity. Since the expenditure increases in summer, Ms Wong and her son always wander the streets or visit the local community centre instead. She thinks that her financial burden will be eased if subsidy or allowance can be provided.
 
Conclusion and Suggestions:
 
The leaping rents and property prices have a great impact on “N-noers”, who suffer harsh living condition, limitation on energy usage and property owners’ exploitation. The findings of the survey and the Army’s suggestions have been concluded below: 
 
1. Recognise the problem of electricity and rental burden of “N-noers” ─ Compared with the past studies of The Salvation Army, rental expenditure costs 40% of the family income. Five-sixth of the interviewees’ electricity fee is higher than the affordable rate. The high temperature results in a poor living condition for the “N-noers”. When they use the air-conditioner more, they need to use other electrical appliances less.
 
2. Install independent meters in sub-divided units to prevent exploitation ─ The study reveals that nearly 70% of the sub-divided units do not have independent meters of power companies. As “N-noers” need to directly pay electricity fee to the owners, over 80% of them are charged at a higher rate than the minimum rate of power companies. We suggest the government and two power companies review Supply Rules No 217 (4) that “a Customer shall not supply to or share with any third party electricity obtained from the Company”, and install independent meters in sub-divided units to prevent overcharging by owners and ensure electricity safety. The governments may add rules or punishment to the owners who overcharge the tenants.
 
3. Welcome direct subsidy and electricity fee allowance ─ “N-noers” have limited knowledge about electricity subsidy and allowance, and they cannot benefit from the government’s electricity subsidy scheme.  Both the government and power companies have not provided any specific subsidy or allowance for “N-noers”. We suggest the Community Care Fund provide a one-off summer electricity subsidy for “N-noers”, and the power companies reduce the electricity fee within a certain level. 
 
The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command states the following principles in “Positional Statement Economic Justice” (extract):
 
  • All people have a right to secure the basic necessities of life (e.g., food, clothing, shelter, education, health care, safe environment, economic security).
  • The Salvation Army believes that certain structure in particular societies can perpetuate economic injustice and is committed to seek constructive changes in those structures wherever they exist. 
 
In conclusion, The Salvation Army sincerely hope the government and two power companies will consider the opinions of “N-noers”, their poor living condition and hardships, and the need of air ventilation and cooling from high temperature, as well as the problem of overcharging by owners due to the lack of independent meters. Allowance or subsidy can help reduce the financial burden of “N-noers” and improve their lives.
 
The Salvation Army intervie...
Ah Fu (right) says the high...
Five-sixth of the interview...

新闻中心
救世军「N无人士家庭用电情况」调查发佈
「N无人士」遭滥收电费
救世军促装独立电錶及增电费津贴
上一页
炎夏已至,「N无人士」分租单位多侷促难当,难免需用冷气机,增加用电量。救世军就「N无人士」用电及电费问题,于2015年6月访问了244名「N无人士」(表1),发现他们因分租单位欠独立电錶,遭业主滥收电费,且未能受惠于政府的电力纾困措施,以致开支急升,生活更见艰难。救世军建议政府及电力公司为「N无人士」的分租单位安装独立电錶,并提供直接的电费津贴或减免。
 
根据调查,「N无人士」家庭电费及租金佔总收入的四成三(42.8%),亦有八成四家庭(83.6%)的电费比最新的「可承担电费」(*1) 为高(表2),在去年夏天,他们因应使用冷气机而减少使用其他电器(表3),平均每月电费的中位数350元,比今年头半年的300元多了一成七(16.7%)(表4)。调查发现,六成九(69.3%)「N无人士」无电力公司安装的独立电錶(表5),近六成九(68.8%)人须直接向业主交电费(表6),当中八成三(83.3%)人所交电费比现时每度电费最低收费还要高(表7),而能够准确回答当时电费津贴及优惠计划的只有2.2%(表8)。
 
「N无人士」是既没有公屋或物业,又没有申领综援的在职贫穷群体。救世军自2012/13年度首次以「关爱基金」名义,为「N无人士」提供低收入生活津贴的申请和支援服务。随着私人单位的市值不断飞涨,三年间楼价上升了44% (*2),而救世军连续三年研究比较租金佔家庭收入的百分比上升了三成 (29.7%) (*3)。「关爱基金」虽不断推出津贴,但未能解决「N无人士」在不同生活项目上的需要。
 
*1: 「可承担电费」为电费佔家庭总收入不多于1.77%。参考统计处消费物价指数月报2015年5月,第28页。
*2: 《楼价指数见10年新高》,明报,2015年6月25日。
*3: 2013年1月,救世军曾以「N无人士」发表调查,当时租金佔家庭收入的中位数是31.4%,而今次2015年4月,租金佔家庭收入的中位数已上升至40.8%,上升三成。
 
个案1:阿富(化名),24岁
 
阿富(化名)自17岁开始独自生活,起初租住约80平方呎劏房,因不断被加租而从西湾河搬到筲箕湾,后因难以负担市区租金(业主加租至每月$4,800,电费$2/度,水费$10/度),再搬至元朗乡郊铁皮屋居住。他居于现址近三年,现时每月租金$3,200,电费每月$500。每年夏天一到,因铁皮屋吸热,阿富须长开冷气抵抗高温,以致电费开支大增。不幸他因工伤暂时失业,生活百上加斤,早前冷气机更损坏,但他已没馀力维修,每日须抵受40多度高温,极为辛苦。
 
个案2:黄女士,40馀岁
 
单亲妈妈黄女士与儿子同住于深水埗区的劏房单位,现时主要依靠抚恤金及每月一至两天的替假工作帮补家计。百多平方呎的劏房单位空气非常不流通,每当气温上升,单位就变得非常酷热,因此必须开冷气机降温。但房东滥收电费及胡乱计算电力度数,黄女士一家的电费开支急升,于是每到夏季,她和儿子经常到街上或社区中心避暑,以减低电费。黄女士认为若有适切的资助或减免,及规管滥收电费的事项,实能减轻一家在电费方面的负担。
 
总结及建议:
 
高企的租金和楼价对最基层的「N无人士」影响甚大,衍生出更多有关住所环境的问题,而能源困乏、业主滥收电费等问题,均从是次调查中显示出来。救世军现就调查结果和对服务使用者建议,归纳如下:
 
1. 正视「N无人士」的电费及租金负担日益严重的问题。比较救世军过去同类调查,租金佔家庭收入超过四成,而有六分之五的家庭电费高于可承担的水平。但不难发现高温导致居住环境恶劣的问题,他们增加使用冷气机时,其他电器的使用量则全线轻微下调,反映他们在使用能源上有需要作出相应妥协,以解决恶劣居住环境的高温和空气不流通等问题。
 
2. 规管分租单位安装独立电錶,以避免业主滥收电费。调查发现有近七成「N无人士」无独立电錶,须直接向业主交电费,当中六分之五「N无人士」所交的电费比现时每度电费最低收费还要高。救世军建议政府及两间电力公司多加正视各自的《则例》中,「提及客户不得供电给第三者」,为各住户安装独立电錶,减低业主滥收电费的可能,更能保障各分租单位内的用电安全。政府也可增加相关罚则,避免业主滥收电费。
 
3. 欢迎直接的电费津贴或减免。无独立电錶的「N无人士」对有关的电费津贴或减免实在一无所知,亦未能受惠于政府过去有关住户用电的纾困措施,政府及两间电力公司亦未为「N无人士」住户提供电费津贴上的专项优惠或津贴。救世军建议政府可在关爱基金的层面,加推「N无人士」的一次性定额夏日额外电费津贴;或两间电力公司本着企业责任,向「N无人士」提供电费折扣,或在某一个用电水平以下的电费提供优惠等,直接减低「N无人士」需要缴交的电费。
 
救世军港澳军区的立场宣言《经济上的公平对待》(节录):
 
  • 救世军相信在某些社会的独特结构里,长期地保留经济上的不公平对待;本军在这些现行的结构里,正致力作出建设性的改变。
  • 人类有权获得生活的基本需要,例如:食物、衣服、栖身之处、教育、健康护理、安全的环境、经济上的保障。
 
总括而言,救世军希望政府及两间电力公司接纳上述服务使用者的意见,考虑他们现时的恶劣居住环境、越见艰苦的生活、居所内降温及空气流通的需要,以及因无独立电錶而遭业主滥收电费等因素,进一步正视「N无人士」的能源贫穷,为他们提供适切的津助或减免,以助「N无人士」改善生活。
 
救世军就「N无人士」用电及电...
阿富(右)居住的铁皮屋最高...
调查发现,六分之五受访家庭...