Media Centre
The Salvation Army in Nepal Distributes Food to Mountain Communities
back
The Salvation Army's emergency response team in Nepal has carried out its first large-scale distribution, taking essential food items to members of remote mountain communities. 
 
Helped by some local volunteers, team members in Kathmandu loaded a truck with rice, dhal, oil and salt and drove it to Sindupalchok District. The district is not far from Kathmandu but remains one of the least developed areas of Nepal.
 
The earthquake has made all journeys very difficult, meaning that the distribution team, including local volunteers, took more than four hours to reach their destination, arriving at nightfall. Heavy bags of food had to be carried up some stairs and across a 160-metre-long footbridge. The distribution centre was at a resort that usually hosts tourists. The emergency team distributed a total of 6,750kg rice, 1,125kg dhal, 450 litres of oil and 225kg of salt to 445 households in nine villages. 
 
Damaris Frick (Field Operations Officer, International Emergency Services, International Headquarters) says: “I would like to express my gratitude to the international and local team members who are all working tirelessly, and also to the Salvation Army territories and other donors from all across the world who support this important work. Because of your generosity, 445 families will have something to eat tonight and for the coming days.”
 
The Salvation Army in Nepal
In 2009, The Salvation Army started its services in Kathmandu, the capital of Nepal. We are now operating a corps (church), a community development centre and a café for skills and business programmes. More than 200 people are served by The Salvation Army. 

 

Food distribution in Sindup...
Food distribution in Sindup...

新闻中心
尼泊尔地震救援
救世军派发食物给山区灾民
上一页
尼泊尔地震中,有不少灾民身处遍远的山区。救世军紧急救援队伍在当地义工的协助下,刚在Sindupalchok派发米、豆泥煳、油、盐等食物。
 
Sindupalchok虽然邻近加德满都,但属于未开发的地区。地震令物资运送过程非常艰钜,救援队伍需要将沉重的食物以人手搬运,拾级而上,步行过一条160米长的桥;花了四个多小时的路程,直至晚上才抵达派发地点。派发地点是一间旅舍,救世军共派发6,750公斤米、1,125公斤豆泥煳、450公升油和225公斤盐给9条村庄的445个家庭。 
 
救世军国际总部国际紧急服务救灾行动主任Damaris Frick表示:「非常感谢本地和国际的救援队员,他们日以继夜地参与救援工作;另外多谢全球的捐款者,他们透过各地的救世军支持我们的工作。因为你们的慷慨捐助,令445个家庭今晚和未来的日子有食物充飢。」
 
救世军在尼泊尔
2009年,救世军在尼泊尔首府加德满都开展服务。现时设有一间部队(教会)、一所社区发展中心和一间提供技能培训课程的咖啡室,服务人数超过200人。

 

在偏远地区 Sindupalchok派发...
在偏远地区 Sindupalchok派发...