Media Centre
Nepal Earthquake Relief
Salvation Army Response Team in Nepal Reaches Out to Remote Communities
back
The Salvation Army team in Nepal is reaching out to remote communities which have not received outside help. One group headed to Sindhupal, where there is no power, taking shovels and axes to help villagers who are trying to excavate bodies that have been buried in collapsed buildings. The village is very difficult to reach because of landslides and floods caused by the earthquake.
 
Captain MacDonald Chandi, has had to overcome similar problems on the way to Ramechhap, where he went with a team to conduct a needs assessment.
 
He reports, “It took seven hours to drive there after struggling with roads that were uneven, stony and broken due to landslides. After safely arriving we saw that most of the houses were totally damaged and it was hard for the community people to live in them. They said they wouldn't want to take the risk of returning to their houses even if they were still standing.
 
“Community leaders and a few family members we spoke with shared their sorrow and said that they are very down because they have lost their loved ones. Now they don’t have place to get shelter and they don’t have money to buy anything to cover them. Our assessment showed that there is a desperate need of tents or tarpaulins for people to live in until they can build proper houses.”
 
Major Lalnunsangi Ralte reports that Salvation Army team emergency responders are now working in three camps in Kathmandu and also around their base, which is just outside the capital. While they wait for the arrival of further supplies including tents, they continue to distribute rice, lentils, cooking oil, salt and water.
 
The Salvation Army in Nepal
In 2009, The Salvation Army started its services in Kathmandu, the capital of Nepal. We are now operating a corps (church), a community development centre and a café for skills and business programmes. More than 200 people are served by The Salvation Army. 
Captain MacDonald Chandi sp...
Captain MacDonald Chandi re...
The Salvation Army continue...

新闻中心
尼泊尔地震救援
救世军救援队伍援助遍远地区灾民
上一页
救世军的救援队伍正援助身处遍远地区的灾民,其中一个分队前往Sindhupal,在没有电力供应的情况下,救世军带同铁铲和斧头,协助村民发掘埋在瓦砾下的尸体。由于地震引发山泥倾泻和水浸,外界很难进入这些遍远灾区。
 
救世军MacDonald Chandi上尉的队伍,攀山涉水后,终于抵达Ramechhap进行灾后评估。上尉说:「地震后,道路不平、满佈碎石,甚至中断,车子花了七个小时才抵达灾区。这里所有的房屋被地震破坏,灾民无法继续居住;他们因为担心安全,整天在屋外站立。」
 
「灾民代表和受灾家庭表示,地震夺去至亲的生命,所以情绪非常低落。现在他们既没有栖身的地方,亦没有金钱购买搭建帐篷的物资,灾民现正急需帐篷或防水布遮风挡雨。」
 
救世军Lalnunsangi Ralte少校表示,救世军的救援队伍现于三个在加德满都的收容中心工作,并为首都外围的灾区提供援助。救援队伍继续派发食米、扁豆、食油、盐和水给灾民,并期待其他紧急救援物资,如帐篷等陆续运到,救助无家可归的灾民。
 
救世军在尼泊尔
2009年,救世军在尼泊尔首府加德满都开展服务。现时设有一间部队(教会)、一所社区发展中心和一间提供技能培训课程的咖啡室,服务人数超过200名人。
救世军MacDonald Chandi上尉...
救世军MacDonald Chandi上尉...
救世军继续派发救援物资。