Media Centre
Nepal Earthquake Relief
The Salvation Army Relief Team Assesses Needs
back
A magnitude-7.8 earthquake struck Nepal on 25 April, leaving more than 3,600 dead, over 6,500 injured. A number of houses were damaged or destroyed. Thousands of people lack water, food and shelters. Aftershocks and landslides make the relief work even more difficult. The death toll and the number of injury will continuously increase.
 
The Salvation Army officers in Kathmandu survived, but need to sleep outside as their building was damaged. Since the relief materials have not arrived, they are providing counselling services to the survivors. They said the most urgent needs in the affected area were relief materials such as water, food and shelters. The Salvation Army International Emergency Services personnel from London are going to the affected area, helping the Army’s officers to provide emergency relief work as soon as possible.
 
The Salvation Army has provided HK$500,000 for purchasing water and food for the survivors. The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command will keep in touch with the personnel in the affected area and decide further relief work after assessments.
Thousands of people lack wa...
A number of houses are dama...

新闻中心
尼泊尔大地震
救世军人员协助救援
上一页
尼泊尔于4月25日发生7.8级大地震,至今逾3,600人遇难,6,500人受伤。无数房屋损毁,数以万计灾民缺水缺粮,露宿街头。持续的馀震和山泥倾泻等情况,令搜救工作更加困难,预计伤亡数字将持续上升。
 
灾区加德满都的救世军人员虽然倖存,但所住的建筑物已受破坏,被迫露宿街头。在暂未有救灾物资时,他们为那些受惊吓及露宿街头的灾民进行心理辅导等工作。他们表示,现在灾区最需要食水、粮食和帐篷等救援物资。救世军在伦敦的国际紧急服务人员正赶赴灾区,协助当地及印度东部救世军的人员尽快展开紧急救援工作,帮助灾民渡过难关。
 
救世军已拨出首批救灾款项50万港元到灾区,用作购买食水及食物等用途。救世军港澳军区会与当地救世军的救灾人员保持联繫,并在灾情评估后决定进一步的援助工作。
数以万计灾民缺水缺粮,露宿...
大地震令尼泊尔无数房屋损毁...