Media Centre
The Salvation Army Reunion Dinner for the Street Sleepers and the Solitary Elderly
back
On the Lunar New Year’s Eve, families gather together to enjoy an abundant feast and celebrate the coming of the New Year. This reunion dinner is especially important for the Chinese. However, the homeless and the elderly with less family support feel depressed because they don’t have the reunion dinner. To cheer up those less fortunate, The Salvation Army served them with reunion dinners on yesterday evening (17 February 2015) and today (CNY’s Eve, 18 February 2015) respectively.
 
The Rotary Club of Kowloon Golden Mile joined hands with The Salvation Army Integrated Service for Street Sleepers to prepare a reunion dinner for 60 service users. Half of them enjoyed the dinner with their fellows at the Salvation Army centre. Thirty “take-away” reunion dinner boxes were delivered to the homeless on the street by volunteers of the Rotary Club. Joseph, one of the volunteers said, “This activity is the most meaningful one I have ever joined. I hope for the long term partnership with The Salvation Army because I want to serve more people in need.”
 
On the CNY’s Eve, more than 180 senior citizens, who are single or living alone, were invited to attend the Salvation Army reunion dinners held at seven service centres in Yau Tsim Mong, Chuk Yuen, Tai Wo Hau, Tai Hang Tung, Tai Po and Aberdeen. The elderly came together, sharing a heart-warming New Year Eve with their friends at their local centres. Some of the participants were hidden elder isolating themselves from social circles. Through this festive gathering, The Salvation Army would like to give warmth to the less fortunate elders, so that they can feel love instead of loneliness in this festival. 
Volunteers of the Rotary Cl...
“Take-away” reunion dinner ...
Senior citizens, who are si...
Senior citizens, who are si...

新闻中心
救世军「暖意团年饭」
跟露宿者及无依长者庆团年
上一页
佳节当前,是喜气洋洋抑或触景伤情,每个人因应自己的境况而有所不同。
 
救世军服务的群体中,有露宿者和独居、孤寡或没有家人照顾的长者。当家家户户一起吃「团年饭」时,那些无家可归的露宿者和欠缺家人照顾的孤独长者,可能会倍感寂寥。他们同样渴望热热闹闹地庆祝团年,欢欢喜喜地送旧迎新。救世军明白露宿者和无依长者的孤清,因此分别于昨晚(年二十九晚.2月17日)和今日(年三十晚.2月18日)以不同的形式组织「团年饭」,让他们同样感受到节庆的欢乐。
 
昨天晚上,九龙金域扶轮社与救世军露宿者综合服务合作,招待了60位露宿者享用丰富晚餐;其中30位在中心「团年」,另安排义工将「团年饭」送到街上的无家者手中。为了与露宿者拉近距离,扶轮社特别派出南亚裔的社员,以他们独特的文化背景,将新年的祝福送给南亚裔的露宿者。其中一位参与活动的扶轮社社员Joseph 表示:「这次是我参加过的活动中,最有意义的一个;希望与救世军长期合作,服务有需要的人。」
 
在年三十晚,救世军七间长者中心设宴,邀请了近180名无依的长者,分别在油尖旺、竹园、大窝口、大坑东、大埔和香港仔的救世军长者服务单位,跟他们熟识的「老友记」和救世军职员共晋「团年饭」。当中有部份是家庭支援网络较弱的独居或两老共住的长者,更有一些是隐蔽长者。
 
当中72位长者应救世军油麻地长者社区服务中心的邀请,出席为他们预备的「团年饭」。他们先与「老友记」及职员一起唱贺年歌及玩游戏,然后共晋中心厨师为他们烹调的「团年饭」,包括乳猪、菜胆鸡、西兰花炒鲍片、清蒸时鱼、北菰扒生菜等应节美食,感受团年的温暖及喜乐。
 
扶轮社义工招待了60位露宿者...
义工将「团年饭」送到街上的...
无依长者跟他们熟识的「老友...
无依长者跟他们熟识的「老友...