Media Centre
The Salvation Army Study Shows Male Carers’ Risk of Breakdown
back
As the concept of “aging at home” has been promoted by the government in recent years, there is concern for the carers of the elderly. However, very few studies have been carried out in Hong Kong to analyse the specific needs and stress of male carers, whose number is less than that of female carers. The Salvation Army Carer Service conducted a survey on this issue, and discovered different stress and needs between male carers aged above 60 and those aged 60 or below. 80.6% interviewees expressed their needs for various support services in the coming year. Members of the focus group also mention the lack of listeners and the risk of breakdown for overstress.
 
Methodology
The Salvation Army carried out a “Study on Male Carers’ Stress and Needs” from August to October 2014, asking male carers from various districts in Hong Kong about their caring stress, depression level, caring ability, seeking help pattern, service needs and background information through telephone or face to face interviews. 204 participants were successfully invited and completed the questionnaires. Additionally, two focus groups were arranged.
 
Findings
1. Different caring stress and service needs between male carers aged above 60 and those aged 60 or below
 
  Male Carers aged 60 or below Male Carers aged above 60
Risk Factors 1. poor/lack of family support 1. being a son
  2. not living with elders who need care 2. poor/lack of family support
  3. less than 10 years caring experience 3. cannot afford daily expenses
  4. less than 6 caring hours per day 4. elders who need care have poorer health than those of the same age
  5. working   
 
For those aged 60 or below, over 80% are sons. Those with the above risk factors (see table) are high risk carers and need more support services. Some of them are new carers or need to work. Working outside and taking care of the elders at home simultaneously affect their social life, isolating them from their social circles.
 
For those aged above 60, around 70% are husbands and over 80% are major carers who provide long daily caring period of 13.6 hours in average. Those with the above risk factors (see table) are high risk carers. The burden of caring work directly affects their health as their bodies deteriorate. These old carers tend to seek help from social service organisations because they do not want to bother their children, or the children’s support is limited.
 
2. Services needed
 
80.6% interviewees say they need various services in the coming year. The most needed service for male carers is “daily living support, medical and nursing support, rehabilitation service and escort service”. Male carers aged above 60 need more “information about community resources, government policies and social service organisations’ support services” and “professional advice on decision making”. It is clear that tangible and enquiry services are essential for carers.
 
3. Impact from negative emotions
 
The self-evaluation result of depression level and caring ability is not bad, but it cannot truly reflect the impact of negative emotions on male carers. In the focus groups, some members say that they can hardly find listeners due to man’s pride and their inexperience of emotion expression. They tend to bear stress alone and seldom disclose problems. Some say men usually focus on problem solving and neglect their own feelings, creating a risk of breakdown for overstress. In fact, male carers long for appreciation and recognition from others, which helps reinforce their confidence in doing caring work. 
 
Conclusion
The Salvation Army Carer Association 7th Committee Inauguration was held on 10 January 2015. Four committee members are male, including the chairman and a vice chairman. As the idea of gender equality grows in society, it is foreseeable that more men may become carers. Nonethless, all carers deserve recognition and respect for their contribution and sacrifice, regardless of the gender. The government is advised to create a friendly environment where carers can receive recognition from the society.
 
About The Salvation Army Carer Service
The Salvation Army Carer Service has been operated since 1988, providing services to elders and their carers based on the concept of “people-oriented and sustainable care”. It helps to improve elderly’s quality of life and educate the public about carers’ needs.
 
 
Carer Service conducts a su...

新闻中心
救世军调查发布
男性护老者忧压力爆煲
上一页
政府近年致力提倡「居家安老」的概念,护老者角色日渐加重,但男性护老者人数始终较女性少,过往很少调查研究他们的处境和困难。救世军护老者服务去年进行调查,发现60岁以上和60岁或以下的男性护老者分别有不同的压力及需要;80.6%受访者表示于未来一年有需要使用不同种类及程度的服务;聚焦小组组员更表示难找倾诉对象,长期受压恐产生「爆煲」的潜在危机。
 
调查方法
救世军于2014年8至10月进行了「男性护老者照顾压力及服务需要调查」,访问全港不同地区的男性护老者,内容包括评估照顾压力、抑鬱程度、照顾能力、服务需要、求助模式,以及收集其个人背景资料。访问主要透过电话或面对面的形式进行,收回共204份有效问卷。此外,亦安排了两个焦点小组,以充实是次调查的层面和角度。
 
调查结果
1. 60岁以上与60岁或以下的男性护老者有不同的照顾压力及服务需要
 
  60岁或以下男性护老者 60岁以上男性护老者
风险因素 1. 缺乏亲人支援或亲人支援不足 1. 做儿子的
  2. 与被照顾者不同住 2. 缺乏亲人支援或亲人支援不足
  3. 照顾年期在10年以下 3. 金钱不足够应付日常需要
  4. 每日照顾时间在6小时以下 4. 被照顾者的身体状况较一般同龄的人差
  5. 在职  
 
「60岁或以下」男性护老者以儿子身份为主(佔八成以上)。在这群组中,「缺乏亲人支援或亲人支援不足」、「与被照顾者不同住」、「照顾年期在10年以下」、「每日照顾时间在6小时以下的在职护老者」,有较大潜在风险,对服务的需要亦较高。这与部份人士可能初为护老者,以及护老者是在职人士,放工后要再做照顾工作,或者是不同住的护老者,每日要两边奔走有关。护老者的角色直接影响他们的社交生活,令他们「有苦无路诉」,社交上变得孤立
 
「60岁以上」男性护老者以丈夫身份为主(佔七成),多是主要护老者(佔八成以上),每日照顾时间长(平均13.6小时)。在这群组中,「做儿子的」、「缺乏亲人支援或亲人支援不足」、「金钱不足够应付日常需要」,「以及被照顾者的身体状况较一般同龄的差者」,有较大潜在风险。对这群体力开始衰退的长者护老者而言,护老者繁重的工作直接影响健康。年长护老者很多时不愿麻烦子女,或子女可提供的支援有限,因此较倾向依赖社会服务团体支援
 
2. 最需要的服务
 
80.6%受访者表示,未来一年有需要使用不同种类及程度的服务。其中,「协助日常照顾长者的工作,例如起居饮食、医疗护理、復康运动或护送等」,是男士护老者预计最需要的服务。60岁以上的护老者更希望「介绍认识社区的资源、政府的政策措施,和社会服务机构的支援服务」,以及「在需要作重要决定时能徵询专业人士的意见」。可见实质性 (Tangible) 服务及谘询服务对护老者的支援是不可缺少的项目。
 
3. 负面情绪影响
 
是次受访的男性护老者自评抑鬱程度较低、自评照顾能力亦不俗,但这并不代表男士不受负面情绪影响。诚如聚焦小组组员所言,男士自尊感强及不习惯将感受宣诸于口,难于找到倾诉对象,对于压力倾向默默强忍,发挥「男儿有泪不轻弹」的铁汉本色,不会对人轻言苦况。亦有组员表示,男士较为以解决问题为本,很少会接触自己内心感受,长期受压会产生「爆煲」的潜在危机。其实男性护老者亦渴望得到他人欣赏、肯定及认同,对增强他们的照顾信心及能力感大有帮助。
 
结语
救世军护老者协会第七届干事就职礼刚于2015年1月10日举行,是届干事中共有四位男士,包括主席及其中一位副主席,为历年最多。相信随着「男女平等」、「家庭岗位」等概念愈趋普及,更多男士会担起护老者的角色。其实不论是男性或女性护老者,其为照顾长者所作出的贡献和牺牲均应得到同等的肯定和尊重。护老者协会期望政府带头营造社会对护老者的认同及肯定气氛,以建立一个护老者友善的社会。
 
关于护老者服务
救世军自1988年起开展护老者服务,贯彻「以人为本」及「持续照顾」概念,为护老者及其长者提供适切的服务,以推进护老工作之发展,提高长者之生活质素,促进社会大众关注护老者的需要。
 
 
救世军护老者服务去年进行调...