Media Centre
‘Alternative 5** School’ Inauguration Ceremony cum Talent Show
SEN Students Reach for the Stars with their Natural Gifts
back

As the society places high regard in academic achievements, children with special educational needs (SEN) are often stereotyped as losers because of their unsatisfactory academic performance. Indeed, with proper guidance, these children can also make good use of their talents and excel. Today (28 January), The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command Social Services Department set up the ‘Alternative 5** School’ that aims to create a loving environment where children with SEN are helped to discover their strengths other than academics. In this way, they may achieve a sense of accomplishment and get a boost of self-esteem. By accumulating successful experiences, they may be motivated to explore new things, fostering a positive and holistic development.

Mr Sin Leung-kai, Subject Leader, Specialized Committee on SEN of The Salvation Army Youth, Family and Community Services said at the ceremony, ‘The School puts a lot of emphasis on caring, encouraging and accepting children with SEN, helping them to discover and realise their own strengths. Also, by getting along with others, it helps boost their self-esteem, to be conscientious and more attentive.’

Mrs Helen Kwok Li Mung-yee, Assistant Director (Youth and Corrections), Social Welfare Department acknowledged the partnership with The Salvation Army. Mrs Kwok says, ‘Every person is unique. Children with SEN have dreams and talents. I believe the School can nurture the children with perseverance to face challenges with courage.’

‘Alternative 5** School’ advocates a ‘strengths-based’ approach, discovering and developing the potentials of children with SEN from eight aspects, including Musical-rhythmic Intelligence, Visual-spatial Intelligence, Bodily-kinesthetic Intelligence, Interpersonal Intelligence, Intrapersonal Intelligence, Naturalistic Intelligence, Verbal-linguistic Intelligence, and Logical-mathematical Intelligence. Moreover, the School also puts an emphasis on the children’s personal development, including Competence and Self-confidence, Family-oriented and Contribution to Society. The School joins hands with different organisations to provide performance opportunities for the children as a channel for the community to understand and recognise the abilities of these children, at the same time parents are encouraged to face their children’s weaknesses and give them opportunities to develop diverse talents.

Last year, The Salvation Army made a comparison between two groups of ADHD children aged 6 to 12. One group of children took part in djembe classes either at school or learning centre, whereas the other group did not. These children were being observed for a period of three months in regard to the changes in their attention, self-esteem and social abilities. The results show that the group of children who learnt djembe scored 2.84 (out of 5) in their self-esteem, with an improvement of 0.32 marks. Their social abilities and attention also improved. As for the other group of children, there is not much improvement or worsening in all aspects. From this we can see by developing their art or diverse talents, children with SEN can also achieve a sense of accomplishment and make improvement in various aspects.

Hip Hop Dancers Overcome Motor Coordination Disorder
‘Moment’ Dancing Team has been set up for four years. Seven members with ADHD have restricted mobility due to motor coordination disorder. The stylish dance moves have drawn these young dancers to hip hop. Through regular training, these little dancers not only break through their physical weaknesses. They also enjoy performing in the public, dancing the easy and rhythmic moves.

ADHD: Scores High in Artistic Creativity
Chung Siu-tung, 11-year-old boy with ADHD, has a passion for drawing. His drawings are always full of wild imagination, but under the mainstream educational system, his creativity only gives him disappointing scores in return. The marking scheme only focuses on skills and aesthetics, killing the concepts and creative ideas of the children and their work are not being appreciated. Today, Siu-tung shared his ideas with the public through drawing, hoping to gain their recognition and respect.

The ‘5** School’ aims to cr...
Dancers of the “Moment’ Dan...
According to a research don...

新闻中心
「不一样的5**学院」成立典礼暨才艺荟萃
让SEN学童凭天赋才华摘星
上一页

当社会推崇学业成绩时,有特殊学习需要(SEN)的孩子往往因为成绩欠佳,被定型为失败者,然而只要得到适当的帮助,他们同样可以发挥天赋潜能,创出一番成就。救世军港澳军区(救世军)社会服务部于今天(1月28日)正式成立「不一样的5**学院」,旨在营造一个关爱的环境,助SEN学童发掘学业以外的强项,从而建立成就感,提升他们的自尊,透过累积成功经验来获得探索新事物的动力,使其有正面及全面的发展。

救世军青年、家庭及小区服务特殊学习需要专责委员会主席冼良佳先生于典礼上表示:「学院重视对SEN学童的关怀、鼓励和接纳,帮助他们找到强项以显示实力,亦可以从群体相处中提升他们的自信、认真和专注度。」

社会福利署助理署长(青年及感化服务)郭李梦仪女士感谢救世军作为合作伙伴,她表示:「每个人都是独一无二,SEN学童有梦想有才华,深信学院能够培育他们的坚毅意志,使学童勇于面对困难。」

「不一样的5**学院」提倡「强项为本」,从八大方面发掘并培育SEN学童的潜能,包括音乐智能(Musical-rhythmic Intelligence)、空间智能(Visual-spatial Intelligence)、肢体动觉智能(Bodily-Kinesthetic Intelligence)、人际智能(Interpersonal Intelligence)、内省智能(Intrapersonal Intelligence)、自然智能(Naturalistic Intelligence)、语文智能(Verbal-linguistic Intelligence)和数学逻辑智能(Logical-mathematical Intelligence);另外学院亦着重他们的个人发展,包括能力及自信(Competence and Self-confidence)、爱家庭及贡献社会(Family-oriented and Contribution to Society)。学院会连结不同的团体,为SEN学童提供表演机会,冀小区人士能了解及认同他们的能力,同时鼓励家长勇敢地面对孩子的不足,并给予机会发展多元才能。

去年,救世军对比两组6至12岁患专注力不足/过度活跃(ADHD)的学童,一组有参与学校或中心的非洲鼓班,另一组则没有,留意他们在三个月内,就专注力、自尊感及社交能力的变化;结果显示,学习非洲鼓的学童自尊感进步0.32分,获2.84分(满分为5分),社交能力及专注力亦有提升,但另一组学童各方面表现则没有进步或变差。由此可见,通过培养SEN学童的艺术或多元技能,可令他们建立成功感,改善各方面表现。

Hip hop舞者跨越肢体协调障碍
「Moment」舞团成立四年,七位ADHD成员自小受肌肉不协调所限,活动能力较弱。因为Hip hop的型格舞步,令年纪小小的他们爱上跳舞;通过定期训练,如今他们不仅突破身体障碍,跳出轻松又具节奏感的舞步,更享受在人前演出的感觉。

ADHD 艺术创意突破分数框框
11岁的钟兆东为ADHD学童,热爱绘画的他,经常会创作出天马行空的画作;然而在主流教育制度下,他的创意只能换来令人失望的分数,因为评分标准只着重技巧及美感,扼杀了孩子的构思及创作意念,孩子也得不到欣赏。今天,他以画作向公众诉说想法,也寄望得到认同与尊重。

「不一样的5**学院」旨在营造...
「Moment」舞团成员突破ADHD...
救世军研究发现,SEN学童在学...