Media Centre
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre Teaching Volunteering Programme
Equips Social Work Students with All-rounded Coordination and Management Skills
back
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre (The Learning Centre) cooperates with the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of the City University of Macau (the University) to organise a 3-month Volunteering Programme for year-one students from the Social Work Programme of the University. Upon its completion, participating students of the Programme find both their coordination and planning skills have improved.
 
Volunteer Amy Li planned the children’s summer activities of The Learning Centre, ‘I always take part in volunteer work and usually take up an assisting role. This time I have the opportunity to take everything on myself, starting with conception all the way to execution. It gives me a sense of satisfaction, and a chance to understand the difference between theories and practice. When the participating children are not interested in the games we’ve designed, we must listen to them and revise the course according to their suggestions in order to arouse their interest in learning and achieve the teaching objectives.’ Her teammate Eurice Leong said, ‘I worked as a private tutor and piano teacher before, but I’ve never led any children group activities. Under the guidance of The Salvation Army instructors, I learn to think about the participants’ needs in order to design activities suitable for them. Doing all these from scratch is a very valuable experience.’
 
Dr Jacky Ho, Assistant Professor, Programme Coordinator of Social Work and Programme Coordinator of Social Science, City University of Macau agrees that learning through practice is highly beneficial for the students. ‘Social work is a people-oriented service. Students realise the importance of thinking from the service users’ perspectives and maintaining mutual communication and good relationships. All these are greatly helpful for their work in future,’ said Dr Ho.
 
Dr Elsa Tsang (Candidate), Senior Programme Officer of The Salvation Army Educational Services Department stated that when developing cooperation plans with the University, it is hoped that volunteers will take the leading role while The Salvation Army giving assistance in order to give the students a higher degree of autonomy. From project design, coordination, execution, adjustment to evaluation, they may fully master the skills of programme planning. A new phase of the teaching volunteering programme will begin in December, providing training to first year students from the Social Work Programme.
 
Moreover, through serving children with special educational needs (SEN), volunteers may understand their unique characteristics and help promote social inclusion. Just like many other volunteers, Amy works with SEN children for the first time. She agrees that the volunteering programme has deepened their understanding of these children. ‘During the drawing session, children who are usually mischievous show their love for parents in their drawings. We can see a pure heart behind all their impulsive and unruly acts. Their “mischiefs” are only a matter of self-control,’ said Amy.
 
About The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre provides professional after-school support services for students with special educational needs (SEN). Our specialists such as SEN experts, clinical psychologists, speech therapists, occupational therapists, social workers, etc. help to support students and families in need.
Through the volunteering pr...
Volunteer revises the activ...

新闻中心
社工学生透过救世军(澳门)教学义工计划
培育出全方位组织及管理能力
上一页
救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心与澳门城市大学人文社会科学学院合作,为社工系一年级学生提供为期三个月的义工培训。计划结束后,参与同学均发现自身的统筹及策划能力得以提升。
 
为中心策划儿童暑期活动的李翠贤表示:「向来有参与义务工作,主要做辅助角色;今次有机会由构思至执行一手包办,不但获得满足感,而且体会理论与实践之别。当参加儿童对原本设计的游戏不感兴趣时,便需要聆听他们的意见,将课程修改,务求引起他们的学习兴趣,达到教学目的。」同组的梁宗瑶表示:「虽然曾经当过补习导师和钢琴老师,但从未尝试带领儿童进行小组活动,在救世军导师的引导下,学习从参加者需要出发,设计适合的活动,由无变有,经验非常宝贵。」
 
澳门城市大学社会科学课程主任、社会工作学课程主任兼助理教授何锺建博士认同实践中学习令同学获益良多。他说:「社会工作以人为本,同学明白从服务使用者出发,体会互相沟通,保持良好关係的重要,对日后投身社会有很大帮助。」
 
救世军教育服务部高级发展主任曾慧菱博士(候选人)表示,与澳门城市大学制定合作计划时,希望将主导角色交给义工,机构只作辅助,给予同学更多自主性,由项目构思、统筹、执行、调适至检讨,全面掌握筹办活动技巧。新一期教学义工计划将于十二月展开,为本学年社工系一年级学生提供培训。
 
另外,透过服务有特殊学习需要儿童有助义工了解他们独特之处,加强社区共融。李翠贤跟不少义工一样是首次接触有特殊学习需要儿童,她同意活动有助加深对他们的认识,她说:「在画画的环节中,平时好动佻皮的孩子,画作却充满对父母的爱,可见冲动嘈吵的背后是一颗纯真的心,他们的『曳』,只是不能自制。」
 
关于救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心
救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心为有特殊学习需要的学生提供专业的课后支援。中心由不同专业人士提供服务,包括特殊学习需要专家、临床心理学家、言语治疗师、职业治疗师、社工等,支援有需要的学生及其家庭。
 
李翠贤(左)和梁宗瑶(右)...
义工聆听孩子意见修订活动计...